spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Report: "secret deal" struck to allow Tito's ISS trip
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 8:44 PM ET (0144 GMT)
A "secret deal" between American and Russian officials has been reached that would allow California millionaire Dennis Tito to fly to the International Space Station...

Who was responsible for Abbey's ouster?
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 1:33 PM ET (1833 GMT)
NASA administrator Dan Goldin said Saturday that the Bush Administration directed him to reassign Johnson Space Center director George Abbey, an account that is not...

UK government responds to near Earth objects report
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 1:16 PM ET (1816 GMT)
The British government released a response Saturday to a report by a task force last year on the threat posed by near Earth objects (NEOs)....

Abbey reassigned to NASA HQ; Estess new JSC director
Updated: Sat, Feb 24 10:41 AM ET (1541 GMT)
Originally Posted: Fri, Feb 23 10:22 PM ET (0322 GMT)
In a somewhat surprising move, NASA announced late Friday that Johnson Space Center (JSC) director George Abbey has been appointed to NASA Headquarters as Senior...

ISS crew completes "Soyuz shuffle"
Posted: Sat, Feb 24 9:59 AM ET (1459 GMT)
The three-man crew of the International Space Station moved a Soyuz spacecraft from one docking port to another during a brief flight early Saturday....

It's official: NEAR mission extended through end of month
Posted: Fri, Feb 23 12:45 PM ET (1745 GMT)
After a false alarm late Thursday, NEAR project officials confirmed Friday morning that the spacecraft's mission on the surface of the asteroid Eros will...

Impacts responsible for rise and demise of dinosaurs
Posted: Fri, Feb 23 12:34 PM ET (1734 GMT)
Scientists now believe that not only did an asteroid impact 65 million years ago wipe out the dinosaurs, a similar large impact 250 million years...

NEAR mission extension reports false
Updated: Thu, Feb 22 9:58 PM ET (0258 GMT)
Originally Posted: Thu, Feb 22 6:26 PM ET (2326 GMT)
Reports that NEAR Shoemaker's mission would be extended several days have turned out to be incorrect, spacetoday.net has learned. A report published on...

Project official: no concern about Stardust thrusters
Posted: Wed, Feb 21 9:17 PM ET (0217 GMT)
The project manager of NASA's Stardust mission said there are no worries about a minor thruster problem with the spacecraft that was recently reported....

Unhappy 15th birthday for Mir
Posted: Wed, Feb 21 2:26 PM ET (1926 GMT)
Russians marked the 15th anniversary of the launch of the core module of the Mir space station Tuesday as some lawmakers and others made a...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 21
Space dust may transport life between worlds
Univ. of Edinburgh — 1:05 am ET (0605 GMT)

Monday, November 20
Orion spacecraft enjoying calmer seas ahead of All-Hands review
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 12:56 am ET (0556 GMT)
Is Trump's NASA Nominee Ready to Tackle Climate Change?
Wired News — 12:55 am ET (0555 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list