spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: August 15
Posted: Fri, Aug 16 8:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
EchoStar reported a second-quarter profit on Thursday. The direct television broadcaster said it recorded a profit of $37 million, or $.08 a share, in...

Bass space flight training suspended
Posted: Thu, Aug 15 2:03 PM ET (1803 GMT)
The Russian space agency Rosaviakosmos has suspended the training would-be space tourist Lance Bass had been undergoing because of a lack of funding, according...

Contact lost with CONTOUR spacecraft
Posted: Thu, Aug 15 10:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
CONTOUR project officials said Thursday morning that they have lost contact with the spacecraft hours after it was scheduled to perform a critical maneuver. CONTOUR...

News briefs: August 14
Posted: Thu, Aug 15 10:33 AM ET (1433 GMT)
An armchair astronomer has discovered a comet in images taken by the SOHO spacecraft, the 500th comet spotted by the solar observing spacecraft. Rainer Kracht,...

Business briefs: August 14
Posted: Thu, Aug 15 10:18 AM ET (1418 GMT)
Stock in two satellite companies dropped sharply Wednesday. Sirius Satellite Radio shares fell 44 percent to close at just $0.76 as investors reacted to...

More doubts about Bass space flight
Posted: Wed, Aug 14 2:20 PM ET (1820 GMT)
Russia has raised doubts that it will include pop star Lance Bass on the crew of a Soyuz taxi flight set for launch in October,...

NASA replaces pilot of future shuttle mission
Updated: Wed, Aug 14 1:49 PM ET (1749 GMT)
Originally Posted: Wed, Aug 14 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)
The pilot of a shuttle mission scheduled for launch in November has been replaced for health reasons, SPACE.com reported Tuesday. Gus Loria was scheduled...

News briefs: August 13
Posted: Wed, Aug 14 7:45 AM ET (1145 GMT)
Frederick Gregory was officially sworn in Monday as the agency's new deputy administrator, NASA announced Tuesday. Gregory's nomination to the post was confirmed...

Business briefs: August 13
Posted: Wed, Aug 14 7:32 AM ET (1132 GMT)
Sirius Satellite Radio announced Tuesday a net loss of $124.6 million in its fiscal second quarter. The company said while it continues to lose...

Crawler problem could delay Atlantis launch
Posted: Tue, Aug 13 9:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
Cracked bearings discovered in the two "crawlers" used to transport the shuttle to the launch pad could delay next month's launch of the shuttle...



news in brief
FCC chairman endorses SpaceX satellite constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:29 PM ET (2329 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress after delay
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:27 PM ET (2327 GMT)

NASA budget proposal seeks to cancel WFIRST
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:20 PM ET (2320 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 18
SpaceX reschedules satellite launch for Wednesday
Los Angeles Times — 8:10 am ET (1310 GMT)
Forget countries, take an affordable space holiday soon
Khaleej Times — 8:08 am ET (1308 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list