spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


CONTOUR contact attempts continue
Posted: Tue, Aug 20 8:05 AM ET (1205 GMT)
Efforts to contact NASA's CONTOUR spacecraft will continue through this week as project officials struggle to understand what happened to the spacecraft. In a...

News briefs: August 19
Posted: Tue, Aug 20 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)
NASA announced Monday that it has selected three instruments for a future solar observing mission. The instruments include experiments to measure helioseismic activity, the solar...

News briefs: August 17-18
Posted: Mon, Aug 19 8:15 AM ET (1215 GMT)
NASA administrator Sean O'Keefe is scheduled to make a "major announcement" Monday morning in upstate New York. O'Keefe will make the announcement at...

Science briefs: August 17-18
Posted: Mon, Aug 19 8:04 AM ET (1204 GMT)
Astronomers have found evidence that Pluto's atmosphere is cooling as the planet recedes from the Sun. Scientists analyzing data from a July occultation, when...

Brazil cancels plans to contribute to ISS
Posted: Sat, Aug 17 11:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
The Brazilian government has informed NASA that it is not able to provide a component for the International Space Station it had previously planned to...

News briefs: August 16
Posted: Sat, Aug 17 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)
The Defense Department awarded TRW a contract late Friday to build the first two of a new generation of missile early warning spacecraft. The $868-...

NASA: CONTOUR may have broken up
Posted: Fri, Aug 16 8:50 PM ET (0050 GMT)
An image from a groundbased telescope suggests that NASA's CONTOUR spacecraft may have broken up, project officials said late Friday. Mission director Robert Farquhar...

Bass resumes training, faces late August money deadline
Posted: Fri, Aug 16 1:56 PM ET (1756 GMT)
The Russian space agency Rosaviakosmos allowed pop star and would-be space tourist Lance Bass to resume training on Friday, but said they had set...

Shortened ISS spacewalk completed
Posted: Fri, Aug 16 1:43 PM ET (1743 GMT)
An American astronaut and Russian cosmonaut conducted a delayed, shortened spacewalk outside the International Space Station Friday morning. Valery Korzun and Peggy Whitson started the...

CONTOUR remains silent
Posted: Fri, Aug 16 10:16 AM ET (1416 GMT)
Mission controllers have yet to reestablish communications with NASA's CONTOUR spacecraft, more than 24 hours after it was scheduled to fire its engine and...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list