spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: August 28
Posted: Thu, Aug 29 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)
The first Delta 4 launch vehicle completed a countdown rehearsal earlier this week, Spaceflight Now reported. The rehearsal stopped prior to the planned T-5...

Business briefs: August 28
Posted: Thu, Aug 29 7:44 AM ET (1144 GMT)
SPACEHAB reported a $2.4 million loss in the 2002 fiscal year on Wednesday, a significant improvement over 2001. The company had revenue of $102....

Bass wins approval from ISS partners
Posted: Wed, Aug 28 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)
A multinational ISS review panel has approved the inclusion of pop star and would-be space tourist Lance Bass on an October Soyuz taxi flight,...

Ariane launch delayed
Posted: Wed, Aug 28 7:52 AM ET (1152 GMT)
Technical problems delayed the Ariane 5 launch of two satellites Tuesday by one day. The Ariane 5 was scheduled to launch at 6:30 pm...

News briefs: August 27
Posted: Wed, Aug 28 7:42 AM ET (1142 GMT)
Loral Space and Communications said Tuesday that it plans to buy back preferred stock in a debt-reduction effort. The company is offering $1.92...

News briefs: August 26
Posted: Tue, Aug 27 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)
NASA has appointed a team to investigate the apparent failure of the CONTOUR spacecraft, the agency announced Monday. NASA chief engineer Theron Bradley will lead...

Cosmonauts complete ISS spacewalk
Posted: Mon, Aug 26 2:11 PM ET (1811 GMT)
Two Russian cosmonauts successfully completed a spacewalk outside the International Space Station early Monday. Valery Korzun and Sergei Treschev spent five hours and 21 minutes...

TRW, Spectrum Astro win satellite contracts
Posted: Mon, Aug 26 10:27 AM ET (1427 GMT)
TRW won a multi-billion dollar government contract late Friday to build the next generation of weather satellites, while Spectrum Astro won a smaller, unrelated...

News briefs: August 24-25
Posted: Mon, Aug 26 7:58 AM ET (1158 GMT)
Negotiations between the US and Europe have failed to reach an agreement about a potential conflict between the GPS and Galileo navigation systems. American officials...

CONTOUR recovery efforts ramp down
Posted: Sat, Aug 24 11:57 AM ET (1557 GMT)
CONTOUR project officials announced Friday that nearly-continuous efforts to reestablish contact with the spacecraft have ended, further reducing hopes that the mission can be...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Sunday, November 19
NOAA's Latest Advanced Weather Satellite Launches
Aviation Week — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Perfect Countdown and Liftoff for JPSS-1
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Saturday morning launch at Vandenberg a success
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 2:51 am ET (0751 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list