spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis moves to launch pad
Posted: Wed, Sep 11 2:26 PM ET (1826 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis was rolled out to its launch pad Tuesday in preparation for the first shuttle flight in four months. The shuttle moved...

NASA selects TRW to build space telescope
Posted: Wed, Sep 11 8:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
NASA announced early Tuesday that it had selected TRW to build a successor to the Hubble Space Telescope that will be named after a former...

News briefs: September 10
Posted: Wed, Sep 11 7:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)
The launch of a Japanese laboratory module for the International Space Station will be delayed by one year, until 2006, SPACE.com reported Tuesday. The...

Japan launches H-2A
Posted: Tue, Sep 10 11:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)
A Japanese H-2A rocket successfully launched two experimental spacecraft into orbit early Tuesday. The booster lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center at 4:...

News briefs: September 9
Posted: Tue, Sep 10 10:29 AM ET (1429 GMT)
Satellite operators Intelsat and PanAmSat are each interested in acquiring rival operator Eutelsat, the Wall Street Journal reported Monday. Intelsat has reportedly made a bid...

Russia officially removes Bass from flight
Posted: Tue, Sep 10 12:34 AM ET (0434 GMT)
The Russian space agency Rosaviakosmos officially notified NASA and the other ISS partner nations on Monday that it has removed pop star and would-be...

News briefs: September 7-8
Posted: Mon, Sep 9 11:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)
The International Space Station will cost NASA an average of $1 billion a year through the lifetime of its mission, Florida Today reported Saturday. The...

News briefs: September 6
Posted: Sat, Sep 7 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)
A bright fireball seen by thousands in South Australia may have been a boulder-sized meteor, scientists said. The blue fireball was seen late Thursday...

Ariane 4 launches Intelsat 906
Posted: Fri, Sep 6 8:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
One of the last remaining Ariane 4 boosters successfully launched the latest Intelsat communications satellite early Friday. The Ariane 44L lifted off from Kourou, French...

News briefs: September 5
Posted: Fri, Sep 6 7:54 AM ET (1154 GMT)
The inaugural launch of Boeing's Delta 4 rocket will be delayed several weeks because of software glitches, SPACE.com reported Thursday. The launch, scheduled...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list