spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Middleweight black holes discovered
Posted: Thu, Sep 19 10:14 AM ET (1414 GMT)
Astronomers have found evidence for medium-size black holes in the centers of globular clusters. Hubble Space Telescope observations confirmed that a black hole with...

Atlas 2AS launches Hispasat
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 10:44 PM ET (0244 GMT)
An Atlas 2AS successfully launched a Hispasat communications satellite Wednesday evening. The Atlas 2AS lifted off from pad 36A at Cape Canaveral, Florida on schedule...

New "moon" likely space junk
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 6:21 PM ET (2221 GMT)
Astronomers have found evidence that a newly-discovered object in a distant orbit around the Earth is most likely a spent upper stage or other...

Northrop/TRW merger moves closer to approval
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 6:15 PM ET (2215 GMT)
Northrop Grumman officials said Tuesday that their merger with TRW is on track for approval after submitting documentation with American and European regulators. The company...

Report: new life for Bass space tourist bid
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 8:06 AM ET (1206 GMT)
Lance Bass's efforts to fly to the International Space Station as a tourist may have been revived after being written off earlier this month,...

NASA confirms October 2 STS-112 launch date
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 7:52 AM ET (1152 GMT)
NASA shuttle managers said Tuesday that they have selected October 2 as the launch date for the shuttle Atlantis on mission STS-112. Shuttle officials...

Astronomers discover 100th exoplanet
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 7:46 AM ET (1146 GMT)
Astronomers announced Tuesday that they have discovered what they believe is the 100th extrasolar planet. The planet, 1.2 times the mass of Jupiter, has...

Bank delays Space Camp Florida auction
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 7:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)
A bank has postponed the auction of Space Camp Florida and the Astronaut Hall of Fame as it tries to work out deals to sell...

NASA cancels new computer system
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 7:32 AM ET (1132 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday that it was canceling a project to develop a new computer system to handle shuttle launches. The Checkout and Launch Control System (...

Report: Pepsi planning space tourism promotion
Posted: Tue, Sep 17 10:22 AM ET (1422 GMT)
Soft drink company Pepsi-Cola is planning to purchase a seat on a future Soyuz flight as part of a reality TV series the company...



news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 24
Tory Bruno, the Other Rocket Man
Air & Space — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Eugene Parker’s Journey to the Sun
Air & Space — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Bezos offers moon to space agency
InnovationAus.com — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list