spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


New observations support Big Bang models
Posted: Mon, Sep 23 10:20 AM ET (1420 GMT)
Data from a telescope at the South Pole has provided the latest evidence in support of current models for the Big Bang formation of the...

No charges filed against Aldrin
Posted: Sat, Sep 21 11:40 AM ET (1540 GMT)
Los Angeles prosecutors decided Friday not to file assault charges against former astronaut Buzz Aldrin for punching a man earlier this month who claimed that...

Bass resumes training, could fly in 2003
Posted: Sat, Sep 21 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)
Pop star Lance Bass resumed training in Russia this week for a future space flight, although a bid to be a tourist on next month'...

Sea Launch considering Baikonur launch options
Posted: Fri, Sep 20 9:01 PM ET (0101 GMT)
The multinational Sea Launch consortium is considering launching rockets from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, SPACE.com reported Friday. Boeing Launch Services president Jim Maser...

CNES director-general resigns
Posted: Fri, Sep 20 10:44 AM ET (1444 GMT)
The director-general of the French space agency CNES announced his resignation Thursday in order to pursue another post. Gerard Brachet will step down from...

Beagle 2 could miss Mars Express launch
Posted: Fri, Sep 20 8:11 AM ET (1211 GMT)
Britain's Beagle 2 Mars lander is in danger of missing its ride to Mars next year on ESA's Mars Express spacecraft, according to...

Hubbard named new NASA Ames director
Posted: Thu, Sep 19 8:08 PM ET (0008 GMT)
NASA selected Scott Hubbard as the new director of the Ames Research Center in California on Thursday. Hubbard succeeds Henry McDonald, whon is stepping down...

O'Keefe disapproved handling of CLCS shutdown
Posted: Thu, Sep 19 7:56 PM ET (2356 GMT)
NASA administrator Sean O'Keefe said Wednesday that he was disappointed in the way employees at the Kennedy Space Center were told this week that...

NRC report criticizes ISS science
Posted: Thu, Sep 19 10:36 AM ET (1436 GMT)
A report issued Wednesday by the National Research Council sharply criticized the scientific plans of the International Space Station, noting that the orbiting facility currently...

Astronomers detect water on exoplanets
Posted: Thu, Sep 19 10:21 AM ET (1421 GMT)
Astronomers announced this week that they have detected evidence of water in the atmospheres of several extrasolar planets. Italian scientists used a radio telescope to...



news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list