spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Robert Forward passes away
Posted: Tue, Sep 24 7:47 AM ET (1147 GMT)
Noted scientist and futurist Robert Forward died Saturday of brain cancer at the age of 70. Forward published over 200 papers on research topics related...

Energia proposes human Mars mission
Posted: Mon, Sep 23 2:17 PM ET (1817 GMT)
Russian aerospace contractor RSC Energia has released plans for its proposed human mission to Mars, Aerospace Daily reported. Energia's mission architecture includes a single...

Japan confident Nozomi will be fixed
Posted: Mon, Sep 23 11:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)
Officials with the Japanese space agency ISAS believe that the Mars-bound Nozomi spacecraft will soon return to normal operations, nearly six months after a...

New observations support Big Bang models
Posted: Mon, Sep 23 10:20 AM ET (1420 GMT)
Data from a telescope at the South Pole has provided the latest evidence in support of current models for the Big Bang formation of the...

No charges filed against Aldrin
Posted: Sat, Sep 21 11:40 AM ET (1540 GMT)
Los Angeles prosecutors decided Friday not to file assault charges against former astronaut Buzz Aldrin for punching a man earlier this month who claimed that...

Bass resumes training, could fly in 2003
Posted: Sat, Sep 21 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)
Pop star Lance Bass resumed training in Russia this week for a future space flight, although a bid to be a tourist on next month'...

Sea Launch considering Baikonur launch options
Posted: Fri, Sep 20 9:01 PM ET (0101 GMT)
The multinational Sea Launch consortium is considering launching rockets from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, SPACE.com reported Friday. Boeing Launch Services president Jim Maser...

CNES director-general resigns
Posted: Fri, Sep 20 10:44 AM ET (1444 GMT)
The director-general of the French space agency CNES announced his resignation Thursday in order to pursue another post. Gerard Brachet will step down from...

Beagle 2 could miss Mars Express launch
Posted: Fri, Sep 20 8:11 AM ET (1211 GMT)
Britain's Beagle 2 Mars lander is in danger of missing its ride to Mars next year on ESA's Mars Express spacecraft, according to...

Hubbard named new NASA Ames director
Posted: Thu, Sep 19 8:08 PM ET (0008 GMT)
NASA selected Scott Hubbard as the new director of the Ames Research Center in California on Thursday. Hubbard succeeds Henry McDonald, whon is stepping down...



news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 10
Near-Earth asteroid removed from risk list
Cosmos Magazine — 4:49 am ET (0949 GMT)
Op-ed | IoT smallsats: Ready for launch?
Space News — 4:45 am ET (0945 GMT)
Last-Minute Glitch Delays US Spy Satellite Launch
SPACE.com — 4:44 am ET (0944 GMT)
Secrets from the Far Side of the Moon
SPACE.com — 4:44 am ET (0944 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list