spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Alcatel Space announces layoffs
Posted: Wed, Sep 25 8:37 PM ET (0037 GMT)
Alcatel Space, one of the leading commercial satellite manufacturers, announced plans Wednesday to lay off nearly eight percent of its French workforce. The company said...

Soyuz launches Progress spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Sep 25 8:20 PM ET (0020 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket successfully launched a Russian Progress cargo spacecraft Wednesday on a mission to the International Space Station. The Soyuz lifted off from Baikonur...

Astronomer, physicist win MacArthur Foundation grants
Posted: Wed, Sep 25 1:45 PM ET (1745 GMT)
A Caltech astronomer and a Cornell University physicist have each received a "genius" grant from the MacArthur Foundation, the organization announced Wednesday. Charles Steidel, a...

Panel laments status of space exploration
Posted: Wed, Sep 25 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)
A panel of experts, including former astronauts, authors, and space tourists, said in Houston Monday that the American public has lost interest in space exploration...

Progress undocks from ISS
Posted: Wed, Sep 25 10:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
An unmanned Progress cargo spacecraft undocked from the International Space Station Tuesday to make way for the arrival of a new Progress. The old Progress,...

Lockheed Martin, Raytheon win MUOS technology contracts
Posted: Tue, Sep 24 8:04 AM ET (1204 GMT)
Lockheed Martin and Raytheon won contracts from the US Navy Monday to begin technology development for a new generation of military communications satellites. Each company...

Loral agrees to joint ownership of Apstar 5
Posted: Tue, Sep 24 7:58 AM ET (1158 GMT)
Loral Space and Communications agreed to split ownership of the Apstar 5 communications satellite on Monday as part of a deal to expedite the launch...

Robert Forward passes away
Posted: Tue, Sep 24 7:47 AM ET (1147 GMT)
Noted scientist and futurist Robert Forward died Saturday of brain cancer at the age of 70. Forward published over 200 papers on research topics related...

Energia proposes human Mars mission
Posted: Mon, Sep 23 2:17 PM ET (1817 GMT)
Russian aerospace contractor RSC Energia has released plans for its proposed human mission to Mars, Aerospace Daily reported. Energia's mission architecture includes a single...

Japan confident Nozomi will be fixed
Posted: Mon, Sep 23 11:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)
Officials with the Japanese space agency ISAS believe that the Mars-bound Nozomi spacecraft will soon return to normal operations, nearly six months after a...



news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 18
Business time at rocket lab
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:29 am ET (0929 GMT)
'Read With Me' Author Explores Private Space Travel
Northern Public Radio — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)
Forget Galileo – UK space sector should look to young stars instead
Institution of Mechanical Engineers — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list