spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


French government cuts CNES budget
Posted: Fri, Sep 27 10:48 AM ET (1448 GMT)
The French government plans to reduce the budget of its space agency, CNES, by nearly 2.7 percent in 2003, raising concerns about its ability...

MUSES-C launch delayed
Posted: Thu, Sep 26 8:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
The launch of Japan's MUSES-C asteroid mission has been delayed from late this year until May because of a spacecraft problem, Space News...

Russian official suggests mothballing ISS
Posted: Thu, Sep 26 7:53 AM ET (1153 GMT)
A leading Russian official said Wednesday that the International Space Station should be temporarily abandoned due to budget constraints. Former cosmonaut Valeri Ryumin of RSC...

Alcatel Space announces layoffs
Posted: Wed, Sep 25 8:37 PM ET (0037 GMT)
Alcatel Space, one of the leading commercial satellite manufacturers, announced plans Wednesday to lay off nearly eight percent of its French workforce. The company said...

Soyuz launches Progress spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Sep 25 8:20 PM ET (0020 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket successfully launched a Russian Progress cargo spacecraft Wednesday on a mission to the International Space Station. The Soyuz lifted off from Baikonur...

Astronomer, physicist win MacArthur Foundation grants
Posted: Wed, Sep 25 1:45 PM ET (1745 GMT)
A Caltech astronomer and a Cornell University physicist have each received a "genius" grant from the MacArthur Foundation, the organization announced Wednesday. Charles Steidel, a...

Panel laments status of space exploration
Posted: Wed, Sep 25 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)
A panel of experts, including former astronauts, authors, and space tourists, said in Houston Monday that the American public has lost interest in space exploration...

Progress undocks from ISS
Posted: Wed, Sep 25 10:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
An unmanned Progress cargo spacecraft undocked from the International Space Station Tuesday to make way for the arrival of a new Progress. The old Progress,...

Lockheed Martin, Raytheon win MUOS technology contracts
Posted: Tue, Sep 24 8:04 AM ET (1204 GMT)
Lockheed Martin and Raytheon won contracts from the US Navy Monday to begin technology development for a new generation of military communications satellites. Each company...

Loral agrees to joint ownership of Apstar 5
Posted: Tue, Sep 24 7:58 AM ET (1158 GMT)
Loral Space and Communications agreed to split ownership of the Apstar 5 communications satellite on Monday as part of a deal to expedite the launch...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Monday, November 20
Tucson Tech: Small-sat launcher Vector lining up launch sites
Arizona Daily Star — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Poroshenko said that Ukraine is a space power
The Stopru — 1:49 am ET (0649 GMT)
UK to clear the way for US space rocket launches in Britain
The Daily Telegraph — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)
‘PSLV built by domestic industry by 2020’
The Hindu — 1:43 am ET (0643 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list