spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Bass training could end again soon
Posted: Tue, Oct 1 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)
Pop star Lance Bass could be forced to end his training for a future space tourist flight in a week, RIA Novosti reported Monday. Bass...

Countdown begins for STS-112 launch
Posted: Mon, Sep 30 2:16 PM ET (1816 GMT)
The countdown towards Wednesday's launch of the shuttle Atlantis started over the weekend, although a strengthening tropical storm could indirectly threaten the launch. The...

Armadillo Aerospace conducts first manned flight test
Posted: Mon, Sep 30 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)
Launch vehicle technology startup Armadillo Aerospace conducted its first, low-level manned test flight over the weekend. Armadillo's "lander", a small, one-person metal-...

Progress docks with ISS
Posted: Mon, Sep 30 11:16 AM ET (1516 GMT)
A Progress cargo spacecraft successfully docked with the International Space Station on Sunday. The spacecraft, known as Progress M1-9 by Russia and Progress 9...

Microbes could exist in Venusian atmosphere
Posted: Mon, Sep 30 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)
Two scientists believe that microbes could exist in water droplets found high in the atmosphere of Venus, New Scientist reported this week. The German and...

National dispute delays Galileo start
Posted: Mon, Sep 30 7:50 AM ET (1150 GMT)
A dispute between two European nations continues to delay the start of the Galileo satellite navigation program, Reuters reported last week. Half of the Galileo...

Planetary wobble affects Martian climate
Posted: Sat, Sep 28 12:21 PM ET (1621 GMT)
Scientists have found evidence that the wobble, or change in tilt, of Mars has an affect on its climate. A team of US and French...

Alcatel wins Chinese satellite contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 28 12:01 PM ET (1601 GMT)
Alcatel Space announced Friday that it has won a contract to build the payload for a Chinese communications satellite. Alcatel said it will provide the...

Kosmos launches navigation satellite
Posted: Fri, Sep 27 2:13 PM ET (1813 GMT)
A Russian Kosmos booster successfully launched a navigation satellite Thursday. The Kosmos-3M booster lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 11:...

Astronaut Hall of Fame acquired by KSC visitors center
Posted: Fri, Sep 27 11:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)
The Astronaut Hall of Fame, one of two Florida properties sold at auction earlier this week, has been acquired by the company that operates the...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list