spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia proposes long-term extension of Baikonur lease
Posted: Fri, Oct 4 12:40 PM ET (1640 GMT)
Russian officials said this week that they were interested in a long-term lease extension that could allow them to continue to use the Baikonur...

Teledesic suspends satellite plans
Posted: Thu, Oct 3 8:13 AM ET (1213 GMT)
Broadband satellite company Teledesic announced Wednesday that it is suspending work on its first two satellites as it considers "alternative approaches" to its business. In...

XM reaches 200,000 subscribers
Posted: Thu, Oct 3 7:50 AM ET (1150 GMT)
XM Satellite Radio passed the 200,000 subscriber mark in the third quarter of 2002, the company announced this week. The company ended the quarter...

Shuttle launch pushed back to Monday
Posted: Wed, Oct 2 10:19 AM ET (1419 GMT)
NASA announced Wednesday morning that the launch of the space shuttle Atlantis will be delayed until Monday because of hurricane precautions being taken at the...

Astronomers create virtual radio telescope
Posted: Wed, Oct 2 8:07 AM ET (1207 GMT)
An international group of astronomers have linked together radio telescopes on three continents to create a virtual telescope with the sharpest resolution of any telescope...

SETI@home reaches 4 million user mark
Posted: Wed, Oct 2 7:49 AM ET (1149 GMT)
SETI@home, a distributed computing project to analyze data obtained from a search for extraterrestrial intelligence (SETI), now has four million users. The project, started...

Shuttle launch delayed at least 24 hours
Updated: Tue, Oct 1 8:14 PM ET (0014 GMT)
Originally Posted: Tue, Oct 1 4:49 PM ET (2049 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday afternoon that the launch of the space shuttle Atlantis will be delayed at least 24 hours, and perhaps longer, because of the...

Bass training could end again soon
Posted: Tue, Oct 1 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)
Pop star Lance Bass could be forced to end his training for a future space tourist flight in a week, RIA Novosti reported Monday. Bass...

Countdown begins for STS-112 launch
Posted: Mon, Sep 30 2:16 PM ET (1816 GMT)
The countdown towards Wednesday's launch of the shuttle Atlantis started over the weekend, although a strengthening tropical storm could indirectly threaten the launch. The...

Armadillo Aerospace conducts first manned flight test
Posted: Mon, Sep 30 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)
Launch vehicle technology startup Armadillo Aerospace conducted its first, low-level manned test flight over the weekend. Armadillo's "lander", a small, one-person metal-...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list