spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronomers find new evidence for Milky Way black hole
Posted: Thu, Oct 17 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)
Astronomers announced Wednesday that they have found new evidence supporting the hypothesis that the center of the Milky Way is home to a supermassive black...

X Prize raises money, adds competitors
Posted: Thu, Oct 17 7:43 AM ET (1143 GMT)
The X Prize, a competition designed to foster the develop of a new generation of reusable suborbital vehicles, has added two new teams while claiming...

Northrop wins EU approval for TRW merger
Posted: Wed, Oct 16 8:57 PM ET (0057 GMT)
The European Union has granted Northrop approval to merge with TRW, a key regulatory step towards completing the merger. The European Commission announced Wednesday that...

Atlantis undocks from ISS
Posted: Wed, Oct 16 2:15 PM ET (1815 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis undocked from the International Space Station on schedule Wednesday morning as the STS-112 mission winds down. Atlantis undocked from the...

Boeing writes off Teledesic investment
Posted: Wed, Oct 16 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)
The Boeing Company announced Wednesday that it has written off a multi-million dollar investment in broadband satellite company Teledesic, citing Teledesic's plans to...

One killed in Soyuz launch failure
Posted: Wed, Oct 16 10:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
The explosion of a Soyuz rocket Tuesday night from Plesetsk has killed one person and injured eight more, Russian officials confirmed Wednesday. The Soyuz-U...

Arianespace plans changes to regain profitability
Posted: Wed, Oct 16 8:04 AM ET (1204 GMT)
French launch services provider Arianespace announced a series of changes on Monday in an effort to become profitable again. Arianespace CEO Jean-Yves Le Gall...

Company plans zero-g airplane flights in US
Posted: Wed, Oct 16 7:47 AM ET (1147 GMT)
A US company announced Monday that it has received FAA approval to conduct zero-g parabolic flights. Zero Gravity Corporation (Zero-G) said that the...

Report: Soyuz explodes after launch
Posted: Tue, Oct 15 5:50 PM ET (2150 GMT)
A Russian Soyuz booster exploded a half-minute after liftoff late Tuesday on a mission to launch a microgravity research satellite, according to Russian media...

Delta 4 test-fires engine
Posted: Tue, Oct 15 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)
The first Delta 4 launch vehicle successfully test-fired its main engine for several seconds Monday afternoon. During the "hot-fire" test, a launch countdown...



news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list