spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mir's final day
Posted: Thu, Mar 22 12:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)
The Russian space station Mir entered its final day in orbit Thursday as plans to orbit the station proceeded as planned. The first of three...

Boeing announces organizational changes
Posted: Wed, Mar 21 2:27 PM ET (1927 GMT)
Boeing, one of the leading aerospace companies in the world, announced a series of management and organizational reforms Wednesday. Boeing chairman and CEO Phil Condit...

Has Mars Polar Lander been found?
Posted: Wed, Mar 21 11:35 AM ET (1635 GMT)
Analysts with a military mapping agency may have located the Mars Polar Lander spacecraft in images of the surface of Mars, according to media reports....

Shuttle lands in Florida
Posted: Wed, Mar 21 6:05 AM ET (1105 GMT)
The space shuttle Discovery landed safely at the Kennedy Space Center early Thursday morning, bringing to an end mission STS-102. The shuttle touched down...

Cosmonauts resume training as NASA copes with Tito issue
Posted: Tue, Mar 20 5:46 PM ET (2246 GMT)
Cosmonauts scheduled to fly a Soyuz taxi mission to the International Space Station next month resumed training in Houston Tuesday as NASA officials maintained their...

Florida weather could force another California shuttle landing
Posted: Tue, Mar 20 11:15 AM ET (1615 GMT)
Inclement weather forecast for Florida tonight could require NASA to divert the shuttle to a California landing for the second straight mission. The shuttle Discovery...

Mir saga becomes bizarre as deorbit day approaches
Posted: Tue, Mar 20 11:02 AM ET (1602 GMT)
With only a few days before the Russian space station Mir is scheduled to plummet to Earth over the South Pacific, the news related to...

Cosmonauts reportedly refuse NASA training without Tito
Posted: Mon, Mar 19 7:55 PM ET (0055 GMT)
NASA will hold a press conference Tuesday afternoon to discuss an "international incident" that took place Monday when agency officials prevented Dennis Tito from participating...

Discovery undocks from ISS
Posted: Mon, Mar 19 1:32 AM ET (0632 GMT)
The space shuttle Discovery undocked from the International Space Station Sunday night, hours after the Expedition One crew turned over the station to the new...

Sea Launch places radio satellite in orbit
Posted: Sun, Mar 18 7:51 PM ET (0051 GMT)
A Sea Launch Zenit-3SL booster launched a commercial radio broadcast satellite Sunday afternoon. The rocket lifted off on schedule at 5:33 pm EST (...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list