spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Europe moves forward with plans for GPS competitor
Posted: Thu, Mar 22 5:13 PM ET (2213 GMT)
The European Commission announced Thursday that it had lined up private financial support to continue development of a new satellite navigation system. The Commission said...

Mir's final day
Posted: Thu, Mar 22 12:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)
The Russian space station Mir entered its final day in orbit Thursday as plans to orbit the station proceeded as planned. The first of three...

Boeing announces organizational changes
Posted: Wed, Mar 21 2:27 PM ET (1927 GMT)
Boeing, one of the leading aerospace companies in the world, announced a series of management and organizational reforms Wednesday. Boeing chairman and CEO Phil Condit...

Has Mars Polar Lander been found?
Posted: Wed, Mar 21 11:35 AM ET (1635 GMT)
Analysts with a military mapping agency may have located the Mars Polar Lander spacecraft in images of the surface of Mars, according to media reports....

Shuttle lands in Florida
Posted: Wed, Mar 21 6:05 AM ET (1105 GMT)
The space shuttle Discovery landed safely at the Kennedy Space Center early Thursday morning, bringing to an end mission STS-102. The shuttle touched down...

Cosmonauts resume training as NASA copes with Tito issue
Posted: Tue, Mar 20 5:46 PM ET (2246 GMT)
Cosmonauts scheduled to fly a Soyuz taxi mission to the International Space Station next month resumed training in Houston Tuesday as NASA officials maintained their...

Florida weather could force another California shuttle landing
Posted: Tue, Mar 20 11:15 AM ET (1615 GMT)
Inclement weather forecast for Florida tonight could require NASA to divert the shuttle to a California landing for the second straight mission. The shuttle Discovery...

Mir saga becomes bizarre as deorbit day approaches
Posted: Tue, Mar 20 11:02 AM ET (1602 GMT)
With only a few days before the Russian space station Mir is scheduled to plummet to Earth over the South Pacific, the news related to...

Cosmonauts reportedly refuse NASA training without Tito
Posted: Mon, Mar 19 7:55 PM ET (0055 GMT)
NASA will hold a press conference Tuesday afternoon to discuss an "international incident" that took place Monday when agency officials prevented Dennis Tito from participating...

Discovery undocks from ISS
Posted: Mon, Mar 19 1:32 AM ET (0632 GMT)
The space shuttle Discovery undocked from the International Space Station Sunday night, hours after the Expedition One crew turned over the station to the new...



news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 23
NASA, Iridium carpooled on Tuesday’s SpaceX mission
Los Angeles Business Journal — 6:01 am ET (1001 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list