spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Sun produces another powerful solar flare
Posted: Sun, Apr 15 8:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)
A powerful solar flare recorded Sunday should not pose a major threat to the Earth despite being one of the strongest ever recorded. The flare...

Final decision on Tito's flight to be made Tuesday
Posted: Sat, Apr 14 10:29 AM ET (1429 GMT)
A final decision regarding whether California businessman Dennis Tito will be a member of a Soyuz crew to fly to the International Space Station later...

X-40A completes second NASA drop test
Posted: Fri, Apr 13 1:38 PM ET (1738 GMT)
The X-40A, a prototype of an experimental reusable spacecraft, completed its second NASA-run drop test in California Thursday. The vehicle was released from...

Report: Air Force may revive X-33
Posted: Fri, Apr 13 10:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)
The Air Force is considering funding continued development of the X-33 as a prototype for a military space plane, the Washington Post reported Friday....

Happy Cosmonautics Day and STS-1 anniversary!
Posted: Thu, Apr 12 11:03 AM ET (1503 GMT)
Thursday marks a pair of major anniversaries in the history of space flight: the 40th anniversary of the first manned space flight by Yuri Gagarin,...

Planetary Society solar sail project suffers setback
Posted: Wed, Apr 11 7:00 PM ET (2300 GMT)
The first test flight of a solar sail will be delayed for an unspecified period because of a testing mishap, the Planetary Society announced Wednesday....

Russia approves Tito space flight
Posted: Wed, Apr 11 10:59 AM ET (1459 GMT)
Russian officials gave their approval Wednesday for California businessman Dennis Tito to fly to the International Space Station later this month as a member of...

Lou Dobbs leaves SPACE.com for CNN
Posted: Tue, Apr 10 2:40 PM ET (1840 GMT)
Former CNN anchor Lou Dobbs announced Tuesday he will return to the network, leaving SPACE.com, the space news and information company he founded nearly...

NASA budget details released
Posted: Tue, Apr 10 2:33 PM ET (1833 GMT)
The Bush Administration revealed on Monday the details of its proposed 2002 budget, including the $14.5 billion it plans to spend on NASA. The...

GSLV launch rescheduled for April 18
Posted: Sun, Apr 8 1:22 PM ET (1722 GMT)
India has rescheduled the maiden launch of its new rocket for April 18, the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) announced Saturday. The first launch of...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list