spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Lockheed Martin announces satellite division layoffs
Posted: Mon, May 14 2:21 PM ET (1821 GMT)
Lockheed Martin has laid off nearly 10 percent of the workforce in its commercial satellite division, Space News reported Monday. The company said it notified...

Boeing selects Chicago for new corporate headquarters
Posted: Fri, May 11 12:10 AM ET (0410 GMT)
The Boeing Corporation announced Thursday it has selected Chicago as the site of its new corporate headquarters. Boeing, the world's largest aerospace company, selected...

Tito gets warm reception in L.A.
Posted: Fri, May 11 12:04 AM ET (0404 GMT)
Dennis Tito was greeted by friends, family, and dozens of space enthusiasts when he returned to Los Angeles Wednesday afternoon. The group, who included Tito'...

Fire disables Russian satellite communication post
Posted: Thu, May 10 12:18 PM ET (1618 GMT)
A fire at a Russian ground station has caused a loss of contact with four military spacecraft, the BBC and CNN reported Thursday. The fire...

Endeavour returns to Florida atop 747
Posted: Thu, May 10 10:14 AM ET (1414 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour returned to the Kennedy Space Center in Florida Wednesday atop a 747, a little over a week after landing in California....

Another successful test flight for the X-40A
Posted: Wed, May 9 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)
The X-40A experimental vehicle completed its fifth NASA test flight on Tuesday. The vehicle was released from a helicopter at an altitude of 4,...

Sea Launch puts second XM Radio satellite in orbit
Posted: Wed, May 9 11:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)
A Zenit-3SL launcher successfully delivered the second of two XM Radio broadcasting satellites Tuesday evening. The booster lifted off at 6:10 pm EDT (...

Rumsfeld announces plans to elevate importance of military space
Posted: Wed, May 9 11:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
US Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld announced a series of proposals Tuesday that will increase the importance of space-related activities in the American military....

NASA plans upgrades to Deep Space Network
Posted: Tue, May 8 11:38 AM ET (1538 GMT)
NASA is planning to build a new antenna to help the Deep Space Network (DSN) deal with a "crunch period" of heavy communications traffic in...

SETI@home reaches 3 million users
Posted: Tue, May 8 9:34 AM ET (1334 GMT)
SETI@home, a distributed computing project to look for signals from extraterrestrial civilizations, passed the three million user milestone Monday. The identity of the three...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list