spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft for ISS
Posted: Mon, May 21 1:07 PM ET (1707 GMT)
A Russian Soyuz booster successfully launched a Progress spacecraft carrying supplies for the International Space Station late Sunday. The Soyuz lifted off from Baikonur at...

X-40A completes test flights
Posted: Mon, May 21 11:16 AM ET (1516 GMT)
The X-40A experimental vehicle completed its NASA-run series of test flights with a seventh and final drop test on Saturday. The X-40A...

Delta 2 launches experimental military satellite
Posted: Fri, May 18 4:58 PM ET (2058 GMT)
A Boeing Delta 2 successfully launched an experimental military spacecraft Friday afternoon. The Delta 2 lifted off from Pad 17B at Cape Canaveral Air Force...

Report: Energia considering Soyuz tourist flights
Posted: Fri, May 18 12:55 PM ET (1655 GMT)
Russian aerospace company Energia is considering selling flights on Soyuz spacecraft to would-be space tourists, CNN and SPACE.com reported Thursday. The reports said...

NASA announces $767 million in SLI contract awards
Posted: Thu, May 17 7:08 PM ET (2308 GMT)
NASA announced Thursday that it awarded contracts worth up to $767 million to 22 companies and universities as the first major step in the agency'...

Gas spheres from star puzzle astronomers
Posted: Thu, May 17 10:04 AM ET (1404 GMT)
Astronomers reported Wednesday that a young star is ejecting spheres of gas in a manner not predicted by any model of star formation. Data collected...

X-40A drop tests wind down
Posted: Thu, May 17 9:50 AM ET (1350 GMT)
A series of drop tests of the X-40A approached its conclusion Wednesday with the sixth successful drop test of the experimental vehicle. The X-...

Technical issue delays Delta launch one day
Posted: Wed, May 16 3:40 PM ET (1940 GMT)
Replacement of a potentially faulty set of hoses has delayed Thursday's launch of an experimental military satellite on a Delta 2 by one day....

Earnings season: Globalstar, Orbital, SpaceDev report quarterly losses
Posted: Wed, May 16 11:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)
Three companies in various areas of the space business reported quarterly losses Tuesday, leading one company CEO to resign. Satellite communications company Globalstar reported a $...

Proton launches American communications satellite
Posted: Tue, May 15 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)
A Russian Proton rocket successfully launched an American communications satellite Monday night. The Proton-K booster lifted off at 9:11 pm EDT (0111 GMT...



news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list