spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Canada considering Mars mission
Posted: Tue, May 29 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)
The Canadian Space Agency is considering mounting its own robotic mission to Mars late this decade, the online publication SpaceRef reported this weekend. CSA executive...

Galileo successfully completes Callisto flyby
Posted: Fri, May 25 11:07 PM ET (0307 GMT)
The Galileo spacecraft flew by Jupiter's moon Callisto early Friday, its camera apparently working after problems earlier in the week. Galileo passed 138 km...

Tile problems push back next shuttle launch to June 20
Posted: Fri, May 25 11:18 AM ET (1518 GMT)
Continued work to dry a number of wet thermal protection tiles will delay the next shuttle launch until at least June 20, shuttle managers said...

Astronaut dies of injuries from plane crash
Posted: Fri, May 25 11:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)
NASA astronaut Patricia Hilliard Robertson died late Thursday, two days after sustaining critical injuries in a small plane crash. Robertson was severely burned when the...

Galileo camera glitch may hamper Callisto flyby
Posted: Thu, May 24 10:58 PM ET (0258 GMT)
An apparent problem with the camera on the Galileo spacecraft may prevent it from taking some or all of images scientists had planned of the...

SpaceVest closes latest venture fund
Posted: Thu, May 24 6:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)
Venture capital firm SpaceVest has made the first closing on its latest venture fund, the online publication VentureWire reported Thursday. SpaceVest made the first closing...

Tile problem to delay next shuttle launch
Posted: Thu, May 24 10:08 AM ET (1408 GMT)
Wet tiles on the space shuttle Atlantis will force NASA to delay its launch next month by at least a few days, agency officials announced...

Astronaut critically injured in plane crash
Posted: Thu, May 24 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)
A NASA astronaut was critically injured when the small plane she was flying in crashed near Houston late Tuesday. Patricia Hilliard Robertson was severely burned...

Progress docks with ISS
Posted: Wed, May 23 8:18 AM ET (1218 GMT)
A Russian Progress cargo spacecraft successfully docked with the International Space Station Tuesday evening. The spacecraft docked automatically with the orbiting facility at 8:24pm...

Galileo ready for last Callisto flyby
Posted: Tue, May 22 3:18 PM ET (1918 GMT)
NASA is preparing for the Galileo spacecraft's final and closest flyby of Jupiter's moon Callisto on Friday. Galileo will pass just 123 km...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Sunday, November 19
NOAA's Latest Advanced Weather Satellite Launches
Aviation Week — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Perfect Countdown and Liftoff for JPSS-1
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Saturday morning launch at Vandenberg a success
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 2:51 am ET (0751 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list