spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA picks two Pluto mission proposals for further study
Posted: Thu, Jun 7 12:59 AM ET (0459 GMT)
NASA announced Wednesday it had selected for further study two proposals for a spacecraft mission to the planet Pluto even though there is currently no...

Planned strike could slow shuttle preparations
Posted: Tue, Jun 5 6:18 PM ET (2218 GMT)
An upcoming strike could hamper preparations for next month's shuttle flight. 600 United Space Alliance (USA) workers represented by the International Association of Machinists...

Astronomers find asteroid belt around another star
Posted: Tue, Jun 5 6:07 PM ET (2207 GMT)
Astronomers announced Monday that they had found evidence of an asteroid belt forming around another star. UCLA astronomers Michael Jung and Christine Chen said that...

NASA delays HESSI launch to investigate Pegasus failure
Posted: Mon, Jun 4 9:19 PM ET (0119 GMT)
Concerns about the Pegasus XL launch vehicle caused NASA Monday to delay this week's scheduled launch of a science spacecraft. The High Energy Solar...

US, South Africa spar over space junk
Posted: Mon, Jun 4 11:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
A South African museum plans to fight to keep three pieces of debris from a Delta rocket from bring returned to the United States. The...

X-43A destroyed after going off course
Posted: Sat, Jun 2 10:18 PM ET (0218 GMT)
A NASA X-43A experimental aircraft was destroyed Saturday afternoon after it and the Pegasus rocket boosting the vehicle went off course seconds after launch....

ISS crew to get mission extension but no external spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Jun 2 12:37 PM ET (1637 GMT)
NASA officials confirmed Friday that the three-person crew on the International Space Station will remain there several weeks longer than previously planned. The Expedition...

ISS robot arm problems delay next shuttle mission
Posted: Wed, May 30 1:58 PM ET (1758 GMT)
Problems with the new robotic arm on the International Space Station will delay the next shuttle mission until at least early July, NASA officials announced...

Soyuz launches Russian military satellite
Posted: Wed, May 30 10:45 AM ET (1445 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket launched a classified Russian military spacecraft Tuesday evening from Plesetsk. The Soyuz lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at...

Panel urges NASA to begin Mars sample quarantine preparations
Posted: Wed, May 30 10:32 AM ET (1432 GMT)
A report published Tuesday recommends that NASA start work now on a containment facility to handle Martian samples returned by missions that are still more...



news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 27
Guess who’s unhappy about Elon Musk’s SpaceX
The Hill — 9:33 am ET (1333 GMT)
Jeff Bezos: ‘We Must Go Back to the Moon, and This Time to Stay’
Wall Street Journal — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
NASA is basically trying to get hacked
The Outline — 9:26 am ET (1326 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list