spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA to start planning for shuttle Hubble mission
Posted: Sun, May 1 11:38 AM ET (1538 GMT)
NASA administrator Michael Griffin said Friday that he has directed engineers at the space agency to begin preparations for the restoration of a shuttle servicing...

Titan 4 launches classified payload
Posted: Sat, Apr 30 11:38 AM ET (1538 GMT)
The next-to-last Titan 4B lifted off successfully Friday night, placing a classified military payload into orbit. The Titan 4B lifted off from Cape...

STS-114 launch delayed to July
Posted: Sat, Apr 30 11:30 AM ET (1530 GMT)
NASA officials announced Friday that they have delayed the launch of the first post-Columbia shuttle mission from May 22 until July in order to...

ESA astronaut to make long-term ISS stay
Posted: Sat, Apr 30 11:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)
European and Russian officials announced this week that ESA astronaut Thomas Reiter will spend six months on the ISS starting later this year, making him...

Lockheed reports increased space profit
Posted: Wed, Apr 27 11:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
Lockheed Martin reported Tuesday an increase in revenue and profits for its space division in the first quarter. The company reported an operating profit of $...

Zenit 3SL launches Spaceway satellite
Posted: Tue, Apr 26 11:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)
A Sea Launch Zenit 3SL successfully launched a heavy TV broadcasting satellite early Tuesday. The Zenit 3SL lifted off from its floating platform on the...

ISS crew returns to Earth
Posted: Mon, Apr 25 6:49 AM ET (1049 GMT)
A Soyuz capsule safely landed early Monday carrying three people from the International Space Station. The Soyuz TMA-5 spacecraft landed in north-central Kazakhstan,...

NASA denies loosening shuttle safety
Posted: Sat, Apr 23 11:29 AM ET (1529 GMT)
NASA shuttle managers said Friday that they are not compromising the safety of the space shuttle by adjusting standards of risk of damage to the...

DART bumped into target satellite during test
Posted: Sat, Apr 23 11:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)
As NASA announced the formation of a mishap investigation board to examine the partial failure of the DART spacecraft a week ago, agency officials confirmed...

Report: NASA changing shuttle risk standards
Updated: Fri, Apr 22 1:30 PM ET (1730 GMT)
Originally Posted: Fri, Apr 22 9:08 AM ET (1308 GMT)
NASA has relaxed standards covering the risk of damage to the shuttle from debris during launch, raising concerns among some NASA employees, the New York...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list