spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia extends term of space agency head
Posted: Tue, May 17 8:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
The Russian government has extended the term of the head of the Russian space agency Roskosmos for five years. In a decree signed May 13...

Space weather warning issued
Posted: Tue, May 17 8:32 AM ET (1232 GMT)
Powerful solar activity has triggered a geomagnetic storm that may hamper radio communications and other activity, scientists said this week. The May 15 geomagnetic storm...

Delta launch delayed again
Posted: Sat, May 14 9:19 AM ET (1319 GMT)
The launch of a weather satellite on a Delta 2 has been delayed until late next week after a mishap took place on the pad...

Russia considering replacing Energia head
Posted: Sat, May 14 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
The Russian government is considering a proposal to replace the president of RSC Energia, one of the country's largest aerospace companies and a major...

Pad glitch delays Delta launch
Posted: Fri, May 13 8:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)
For the third straight day the launch of a weather satellite from California has been delayed, this time because of a problem with the launch...

Mars Express boom deployment confirmed
Posted: Fri, May 13 8:26 AM ET (1226 GMT)
ESA officials said Wednesday that the first of two radar booms had finally successfully deployed, after a maneuver locked a final segment of the boom...

Winds again delay Delta launch
Posted: Thu, May 12 7:09 AM ET (1109 GMT)
For the second straight day high winds have delayed the launch of a weather satellite from California. The Delta 2 was scheduled to lift off...

Massive solar flares may have protected early Earth
Posted: Thu, May 12 7:02 AM ET (1102 GMT)
Powerful x-ray flares from the early Sun may have prevented the Earth from spiraling in, astronomers said Tuesday. That conclusion was based on observations...

Astronomers witness birth of black hole
Posted: Thu, May 12 6:50 AM ET (1050 GMT)
Astronomers announced this week that they observed a brief gamma-ray burst that they believe signals the birth of a new black hole. The burst,...

Weather satellite launch delayed
Posted: Wed, May 11 8:05 AM ET (1205 GMT)
The launch of a new polar-orbiting weather satellite has been postponed because of high winds early Wednesday. The Delta 2 was scheduled to lift...



news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 27
Guess who’s unhappy about Elon Musk’s SpaceX
The Hill — 9:33 am ET (1333 GMT)
Jeff Bezos: ‘We Must Go Back to the Moon, and This Time to Stay’
Wall Street Journal — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
NASA is basically trying to get hacked
The Outline — 9:26 am ET (1326 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list