spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Signal detected from solar sail spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jun 22 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)
The Planetary Society said late Tuesday night that ground stations have detected weak signals that they believe are from the Cosmos 1 solar sail spacecraft...

Senate subcommittee adds Hubble funding
Posted: Wed, Jun 22 8:40 AM ET (1240 GMT)
A subcommittee of the Senate Appropriations Committee added $250 million to NASA's proposed 2006 budget to support a servicing mission for the Hubble Space...

Solar sail launched, status unknown
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 8:18 PM ET (0018 GMT)
A sub-based Russian booster launched an experimental solar sail satellite late Tuesday, but ground controllers have yet to establish contact with the spacecraft. The...

Russian military launch fails
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 8:14 AM ET (1214 GMT)
A Russian rocket carrying a military communications satellite failed shortly after launch early Tuesday, crashing in Siberia. The Molniya-M rocket lifted off from the...

Galileo teams make joint proposal
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 7:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)
Two industry teams that had been competing for the contract to develop and operate Europe's Galileo satellite navigation system have now jointed forced and...

NASA to extend TRMM mission
Posted: Mon, Jun 20 8:15 AM ET (1215 GMT)
NASA plans to further extend the mission of a satellite used in hurricane forecasting, even though such an extension would make it impossible to carry...

Inmarsat IPO a success
Posted: Mon, Jun 20 7:33 AM ET (1133 GMT)
Satellite operator Inmarsat conducted an initial public offering (IPO) of stock on Friday, with share prices rising nearly 20 percent on the first day of...

Progress docks manually with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 19 10:44 AM ET (1444 GMT)
A Progress spacecraft docked safely with the ISS Saturday night, but only after the crew on the space station took over control of the unmanned...

Mars Express extends second boom
Posted: Sat, Jun 18 3:11 PM ET (1911 GMT)
ESA's Mars Express spacecraft has successfully extended the second of a pair of 20-meter booms that will be used in the search for...

Progress launched to ISS
Posted: Fri, Jun 17 7:51 AM ET (1151 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket successfully launched a Progress cargo spacecraft to the International Space Station early Friday. The Soyuz rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list