spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA awards CEV study contracts
Posted: Wed, Jul 13 8:06 AM ET (1206 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday that it has issued study contracts to the two teams who submitted proposals for the development of the Crew Exploration Vehicle (CEV),...

NASA tying up loose ends for shuttle launch
Posted: Tue, Jul 12 8:23 AM ET (1223 GMT)
Shuttle managers said late Monday they were handing only a few "loose ends" in the final days before Wednesday afternoon's launch of the shuttle...

Spacehab proposes ISS cargo spacecraft
Posted: Tue, Jul 12 8:11 AM ET (1211 GMT)
Houston-based Spacehab, a company best known for developing modules flown on the space shuttle, is planning to develop a modular series of cargo spacecraft...

STS-114 countdown begins
Posted: Mon, Jul 11 8:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
The countdown for Wednesday afternoon's launch of the shuttle Discovery started Sunday evening with no technical issues reported and a favorable weather forecast. The...

Deep Impact reveals dusty nature of comet
Posted: Mon, Jul 11 8:33 AM ET (1233 GMT)
Comet Tempel 1 released far more dust than scientists expected when a probe released by NASA's Deep Impact spacecraft collided with the nucleus last...

Japan launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 10 9:07 PM ET (0107 GMT)
The Japanese space agency JAXA announced Sunday that it had successfully launched a small x-ray astronomy satellite. An M-5 launch vehicle carrying the...

Hurricane will not delay shuttle launch
Posted: Sat, Jul 9 11:32 AM ET (1532 GMT)
A hurricane in the Gulf of Mexico will pose no risk to the Kennedy Space Center and thus will not delay Wednesday's scheduled launch...

Japanese launch delayed again
Posted: Fri, Jul 8 8:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)
The Japanese space agency JAXA announced late Thursday that the launch of an astronomy spacecraft had been delayed again because of poor weather. The M-...

Arianespace delays iPSTAR launch
Posted: Thu, Jul 7 8:34 AM ET (1234 GMT)
Arianespace announced Wednesday that it has delayed the launch of the iPSTAR communications satellite for several days because of a problem with ground equipment at...

Roskosmos signs contract for Olsen flight
Posted: Wed, Jul 6 8:58 AM ET (1258 GMT)
The Russian space agency Roskosmos has signed a contract with Gregory Olsen that will allow the American businessman to fly to the International Space Station...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list