spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis docks with space station
Posted: Sat, Jul 14 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis docked with the International Space Station Friday night as shuttle and station crews prepared to install an airlock to the orbiting...

Ariane 5 places spacecraft in wrong orbit
Posted: Fri, Jul 13 8:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
A problem with the upper stage of an Ariane 5 booster stranded two communications satellites in low orbits late Thursday. The Ariane 5 lifted off...

Atlantis launches on mission to space station
Posted: Thu, Jul 12 6:49 AM ET (1049 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis lifted off early Thursday morning on a mission to the International Space Station. Atlantis lifted off on schedule at 5:04...

Solar sail test launch scheduled for July 18
Posted: Thu, Jul 12 6:26 AM ET (1026 GMT)
A suborbital test launch of a privately-funded solar sail has been set for July 18, the Planetary Society announced Wednesday. The suborbital test flight...

House subcommittee boosts NASA budget
Posted: Wed, Jul 11 11:37 AM ET (1537 GMT)
A subcommittee of the House Appropriations Committee voted Tuesday to add more than $400 million to NASA's 2002 budget proposal. The VA-HUD subcommittee,...

Shuttle countdown continues, weather still a concern
Posted: Wed, Jul 11 10:56 AM ET (1456 GMT)
The countdown towards Thursday morning's launch of the shuttle Atlantis continues with uncertain weather still the primary concern. Shuttle managers said Wednesday morning that...

X-38 successfully completes flight test
Posted: Tue, Jul 10 7:06 PM ET (2306 GMT)
A prototype of a possible future crew return vehicle for the International Space Station made a successful test flight Tuesday. The X-38's flight...

Giant dust storm spotted on Mars
Posted: Tue, Jul 10 11:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)
One of the largest dust storms in years is taking place on the planet Mars, NASA scientists said Monday. The giant dust storm was first...

Countdown begins for Thursday shuttle launch
Posted: Mon, Jul 9 6:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)
The countdown for the launch this Thursday of the space shuttle Atlantis began Monday morning with weather the only major concern. Countdown clocks started at...

Congress may add funding for CRV development
Posted: Sat, Jul 7 12:10 PM ET (1610 GMT)
A Congressional subcommittee may add $400 million to NASA's 2002 budget so the agency can continue work on a crew return vehicle (CRV) for...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list