spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis undocks from space station
Posted: Sun, Jul 22 11:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis undocked from the International Space Station late Saturday after crews completed the installation of a new airlock module at the orbiting...

Astronauts complete third spacewalk outside ISS
Posted: Sat, Jul 21 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)
Two shuttle astronauts completed the installation of a new airlock module to the International Space Station during a four-hour spacewalk late Friday night. Astronauts...

Soyuz launches Russian satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 21 10:10 AM ET (1410 GMT)
A Soyuz launch vehicles placed a Russian government satellite into orbit late Thursday night. The Soyuz lifted off at 8:17 pm EDT Thursday (0017...

Solar sail launched; recovery effort underway
Posted: Fri, Jul 20 6:49 AM ET (1049 GMT)
A solar sail demonstrator spacecraft was successfully launched on a suborbital test flight Thursday evening. The Cosmos 1 spacecraft was launched at 8:33 pm...

Leaky air valve replaced on station
Posted: Thu, Jul 19 11:24 AM ET (1524 GMT)
Shuttle and station astronauts replaced a leaky air circulation valve in the new Quest airlock module of the International Space Station Wednesday night. The leak...

Astronauts complete second ISS spacewalk
Posted: Wed, Jul 18 11:34 AM ET (1534 GMT)
Two NASA astronauts completed the second of three planned spacewalks outside the International Space Station Tuesday night despite a computer glitch that threatened to derail...

Astronauts gear up for second spacewalk, mission extended a day
Updated: Tue, Jul 17 3:13 PM ET (1913 GMT)
Originally Posted: Tue, Jul 17 11:46 AM ET (1546 GMT)
Two shuttle astronauts are gearing up for a second spacewalk outside the International Space Station tonight despite problems that led shuttle managers Tuesday to extend...

Spacecraft reaches halfway point on odyssey to Mars
Posted: Tue, Jul 17 11:35 AM ET (1535 GMT)
NASA's 2001 Mars Odyssey spacecraft reached the halfway point in its 200-day mission to the red planet Monday in excellent health. The spacecraft...

Astronauts install space station airlock
Posted: Sun, Jul 15 11:55 AM ET (1555 GMT)
Astronauts successfully attached a new airlock module to the International Space Station during a six hour spacewalk late Saturday night. The Quest airlock module was...

Spacecraft detects water in extrasolar system
Posted: Sun, Jul 15 11:36 AM ET (1536 GMT)
An orbiting spacecraft has uncovered the first direct evidence of water in an extrasolar system, astronomers said last week. Astronomers said that observations by the...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list