spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Bolt problem could delay next shuttle mission
Posted: Sat, Sep 29 3:05 PM ET (1905 GMT)
Misshapen bolt holes discovered during an inspection of one shuttle could delay the next shuttle flight, NASA confirmed Friday. In reports published by the Houston...

Athena launch delayed until weekend
Posted: Fri, Sep 28 12:45 AM ET (0445 GMT)
The launch of an Athena rocket from Alaska has been pushed back until at least Saturday and may be delayed further depending on terrestrial and...

Commercial satellites affected by possible power glitches
Posted: Thu, Sep 27 5:52 PM ET (2152 GMT)
Problems with two popular families of commercial communication satellites could cause problems for nearly 20 such spacecraft currently in orbit, according to reports published Thursday....

News briefs: September 26
Posted: Wed, Sep 26 6:19 PM ET (2219 GMT)
XM Satellite Radio started a "soft" rollout of its satellite radio service on Tuesday, two weeks later than previously planned. XM is now offering service...

Ariane launches European communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Sep 25 10:57 PM ET (0257 GMT)
An Ariane 4 rocket successfully launched a communications satellite for Eutelsat Tuesday night. The Ariane 44P, the version of the Ariane 4 that uses four...

NASA releases images from DS1 comet flyby
Posted: Tue, Sep 25 5:39 PM ET (2139 GMT)
Images taken by NASA's Deep Space 1 (DS1) spacecraft during its flyby of the comet Borrelly Saturday are the best view yet of the...

News briefs: September 25
Posted: Tue, Sep 25 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)
SpaceDev announced Tuesday that it has won a contract worth up to $2.2 million. The San Diego-based aerospace company said the contract was...

Solar flare delays Kodiak Star launch
Updated: Mon, Sep 24 11:05 PM ET (0305 GMT)
Originally Posted: Mon, Sep 24 10:06 PM ET (0206 GMT)
A strong solar flare Monday forced a delay in the launch of an Athena rocket for several days. The Athena 1 was scheduled to launch...

Deep Space 1 flies by comet Borrelly
Posted: Sun, Sep 23 9:32 AM ET (1332 GMT)
NASA's Deep Space 1 (DS1) spacecraft successfully flew by the comet Borrelly Saturday evening, returning images and other data about the comet. DS1 passed...

Radar problem delays Kodiak Star launch
Posted: Sat, Sep 22 11:44 PM ET (0344 GMT)
A problem with a tracking radar scrubbed the launch of an Athena rocket Saturday evening. The Athena 1 was scheduled for launch at 9 pm...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list