spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta launches commercial imaging satellite
Posted: Thu, Oct 18 5:09 PM ET (2109 GMT)
A Delta 2 booster successfully launched a commercial high-resolution imaging spacecraft Thursday afternoon. The Delta 2 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California,...

News briefs: October 17
Posted: Thu, Oct 18 2:50 AM ET (0650 GMT)
The launch table for the new Delta 4 launch site arrived at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California on Wednesday. The 650-ton table will...

Goldin to resign as NASA administrator
Updated: Thu, Oct 18 12:17 AM ET (0417 GMT)
Originally Posted: Wed, Oct 17 2:23 PM ET (1823 GMT)
NASA administrator Dan Goldin announced Wednesday that he will resign from the space agency next month. Goldin addressed the space agency's employees via TV...

Report recommends laying off hundreds of station employees
Posted: Wed, Oct 17 10:44 AM ET (1444 GMT)
An independent committee will recommend to NASA that it lay off up to 1,000 people working on the International Space Station program, Florida Today...

News briefs: October 16
Posted: Wed, Oct 17 10:30 AM ET (1430 GMT)
Several building at the Kennedy Space Center were shut down Tuesday after several suspicious packages and traces of a white powder were discovered. At least...

Galileo survives Io flyby
Posted: Tue, Oct 16 7:59 PM ET (2359 GMT)
NASA's Galileo spacecraft completed a flyby of the volcanic inner Jovian moon of Io late Monday in good shape, project officials reported Tuesday. Galileo...

Rothenberg to retire from NASA
Posted: Tue, Oct 16 7:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)
Joseph Rothenberg, the NASA associate administrator for space flight, will retire in December, the space agency announced Tuesday. Rothenberg had served as associate administrator, responsible...

Defense Department buys exclusive rights to Ikonos Afghanistan images
Posted: Tue, Oct 16 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)
The US Defense Department has purchased exclusive rights to all images of Afghanistan taken by the Ikonos commercial remote sensing spacecraft, company and military officials...

News briefs: October 15
Posted: Tue, Oct 16 10:28 AM ET (1428 GMT)
Police are investigating whether a white powder found in a letter mailed to Arianespace's French headquarters contains anthrax, SPACE.com reported Monday. The headquarters...

Eight extrasolar planets discovered
Posted: Mon, Oct 15 7:35 PM ET (2335 GMT)
Astronomers announced Monday that they have discovered eight more planets orbiting other stars, including three whose orbits are similar to planets in our own solar...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list