spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: November 26
Posted: Tue, Nov 27 9:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)
C. Patrick DeWitt has been named as the new president of Space Systems/Loral, Space News reported Monday. He will succeed John M. Klineberg, who...

Ariane launches DIRECTV satellite
Posted: Tue, Nov 27 9:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
An Ariane 4 booster successfully launched a new direct television broadcasting satellite Monday evening. The Ariane 44LP lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana at 7:...

Progress launched to ISS
Posted: Mon, Nov 26 5:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)
A Soyuz booster launched a Progress cargo spacecraft Monday from Baikonur, Kazakhstan. The Soyuz lifted off at 1:24 pm EST (1824 GMT) and placed...

Astronauts arrive for shuttle launch
Posted: Mon, Nov 26 10:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)
The crew of the space shuttle Endeavour arrived at the Kennedy Space Center late Sunday as preparations continue for Thursday night's launch. The seven-...

News briefs: November 24-25
Posted: Mon, Nov 26 10:02 AM ET (1502 GMT)
Two rockets are scheduled for launch Monday, the first in over a month worldwide. A Soyuz rocket is scheduled to launch Monday afternoon from Baikonur,...

News briefs: November 23
Posted: Sat, Nov 24 10:27 AM ET (1527 GMT)
Canada may have to wait until 2004 until another of its citizens flies in space, the National Post newspaper reported this week. No Canadian astronauts...

China announces plans for future human spaceflight
Posted: Fri, Nov 23 8:15 PM ET (0115 GMT)
Chinese officials said this week that they will launch a human into space by 2005 and hinted at future missions to the Moon. Officials with...

News briefs: November 22
Posted: Fri, Nov 23 10:18 AM ET (1518 GMT)
The Progress-M45 unmanned cargo spacecraft undocked from the International Space Station on Thursday. The Progress, loaded with garbage from the station, will reenter and...

British teams test rockets
Posted: Fri, Nov 23 10:02 AM ET (1502 GMT)
Two British rocket development groups successfully tested small rocket systems within the last week. Starchaser Industries launched its Nova reusable rocket Thursday from a site...

News briefs: November 22
Posted: Thu, Nov 22 11:47 AM ET (1647 GMT)
TRW will lay off several hundred employees of its Space and Electronics Group because of decreased work, Space News reported Wednesday. The suspension of work...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list