spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: December 6
Posted: Fri, Dec 7 8:09 AM ET (1309 GMT)
XM Satellite Radio announced Thursday that it has secured $178 million in additional funding, enough to support the company through 2002. The funding came from...

UK to join ESO, upgrade Jodrell Bank
Posted: Thu, Dec 6 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)
Great Britain will become a member nation of the European Southern Observatory next year and also upgrade a leading radio observatory, British and ESO officials...

News briefs: December 5
Posted: Thu, Dec 6 8:12 AM ET (1312 GMT)
Long-duration spaceflight is "inherently hazardous" to human health, a new report concludes. According to SPACE.com, the report by the National Academy of Sciences...

Endeavour lifts off
Posted: Wed, Dec 5 6:29 PM ET (2329 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour launched Wednesday afternoon on a mission to the International Space Station. Endeavour lifted off from the Kennedy Space Center at 5:...

News briefs: December 4
Posted: Wed, Dec 5 7:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)
An adaptive optics system at the European Southern Observatory is now capable of images as sharp as the Hubble Space Telescope, astronomers said Tuesday. The...

Weather delays shuttle launch
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 6:56 PM ET (2356 GMT)
The launch of the space shuttle Endeavour was scrubbed Tuesday because of poor weather conditions. NASA had planned to launch the shuttle on mission STS-...

News briefs: December 3
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 8:08 AM ET (1308 GMT)
Sean O'Keefe, President Bush's nominee to become the new administrator of NASA, will appear before a Senate committee Friday for his confirmation hearing....

Report: Shuttleworth makes deal to fly to ISS
Posted: Mon, Dec 3 10:09 PM ET (0309 GMT)
South African entrepreneur Mark Shuttleworth has reached a deal with the Russian space agency Rosaviakosmos to fly to the International Space Station as a space...

Cosmonauts complete ISS spacewalk
Posted: Mon, Dec 3 10:01 PM ET (0301 GMT)
Two cosmonauts quickly completed a contingency spacewalk Monday, allowing a Progress spacecraft to securely dock with the International Space Station and clearing the way for...

News briefs: December 1-2
Posted: Sun, Dec 2 11:31 PM ET (0431 GMT)
The reentry of portions of a Proton rocket launched Saturday may have caused brilliant displays witnessed in portions of the United States and Europe Saturday...



news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Friday, June 22
MetService on site for planned Rocket Lab launch
Scoop.co.nz — 5:44 am ET (0944 GMT)
NZ space company prepares for launch
NEWS.com.au — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)
Falcon Heavy Certified For U.S. Air Force Flights
Aviation Week — 5:41 am ET (0941 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list