spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: December 17
Posted: Tue, Dec 18 7:58 AM ET (1258 GMT)
DigitalGlobe and Ball Aerospace released Monday the first high resolution images from the QuickBird satellite, launched two months ago. The images, of Washington, DC; Bangkok,...

Endeavour lands in Florida
Posted: Mon, Dec 17 5:45 PM ET (2245 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour landed at the Kennedy Space Center Monday afternoon to bring the STS-108 mission to a close. The shuttle landed at...

News briefs: December 15-16
Posted: Mon, Dec 17 10:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)
A planned vote last week by the Senate Commerce Committee to confirm Sean O'Keefe as the next NASA administrator was blocked late last week...

Shuttle deploys satellite, ready for landing
Posted: Mon, Dec 17 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour deployed a small satellite Sunday while wrapping up its mission in preparation for landing on Monday. On Sunday morning the shuttle...

Deep Space One mission to end this week
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:52 PM ET (1752 GMT)
NASA's Deep Space One (DS1) mission is scheduled to end on Tuesday, more than three years after launch and three months after a successful...

Shuttle undocks from station
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:43 PM ET (1743 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour undocked from the International Space Station Saturday as it prepared to return to Earth. The shuttle undocked at 12:28 pm...

News briefs: December 14
Posted: Sat, Dec 15 10:46 AM ET (1546 GMT)
Another communications satellite has suffered a serious problem in orbit, Space News reported Friday. Arabsat 3A abruptly lost all power from one of two solar...

Shuttle prepares to undock from station
Posted: Sat, Dec 15 10:35 AM ET (1535 GMT)
The crews of the space shuttle Endeavour and the International Space Station completed preparations Friday for the shuttle's departure on Saturday. Astronauts finished packing...

FUSE spacecraft in safe mode
Posted: Fri, Dec 14 8:05 PM ET (0105 GMT)
NASA's Far Ultraviolet Spectroscopic Explorer (FUSE) spacecraft entered safe mode earlier this week because of a reaction wheel problem, project officials said Friday. On...

Shuttle glitch could shorten mission
Posted: Fri, Dec 14 10:17 AM ET (1517 GMT)
A failure of a navigation unit on board the shuttle Endeavour has brought the mission close to an early end, NASA officials said Thursday. One...



news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list