spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Startup company announces asteroid mining plans
Posted: Wed, Jan 23 8:02 AM ET (1302 GMT)
For the second time in less than a year, a company has announced plans to develop a fleet of spacecraft to prospect and eventually extract...

Mars crater shows signs of past lake
Posted: Tue, Jan 22 7:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)
Planetary scientists have found evidence that a Martian crater was once home to a lake fed by groundwater. Scientists reporting in the latest edition of...

Arabsat orders new satellite
Posted: Mon, Jan 21 8:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
Middle Eastern satellite operator Arabsat announced Saturday it has ordered a new communications satellite to be built and launched by European companies. Badr-7 (also...

Reaction wheel glitch temporarily suspends Kepler operations
Posted: Mon, Jan 21 7:52 AM ET (1252 GMT)
NASA's Kepler spacecraft is suspending science operations for ten days to rest a reaction wheel that showed signs of wear, project officials said late...

South Korea sets new launch date for KSLV-1
Posted: Fri, Jan 18 6:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)
South Korean officials announced this week they will make another attempt to launch their own small launch vehicle during a window that opens late this...

ESA, NASA agree on ATV-based service module for Orion
Posted: Thu, Jan 17 6:05 AM ET (1105 GMT)
NASA and ESA formally announced Wednesday that Europe will develop a service module for at least one Orion mission based on the ATV cargo spacecraft....

Curiosity rover ready to test drill
Posted: Wed, Jan 16 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
NASA's Curiosity Mars rover is set to test its drill in the coming days on a rock that scientists believe may provide new information...

Rockot places three satellites in orbit
Posted: Wed, Jan 16 7:25 AM ET (1225 GMT)
A Russian Rockot booster placed three Russian military satellites into orbit on Tuesday in the first orbital launch of the year. The Rockot vehicle lifted...

Canadian Space Agency head to step down
Posted: Wed, Jan 16 7:15 AM ET (1215 GMT)
The president of the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) will resign at the end of the month to take a position with a new research institute,...

Wildfire hits Australian observatory
Posted: Mon, Jan 14 6:39 AM ET (1139 GMT)
A massive wildfire swept through a major Australian astronomical observatory on Sunday, damaging some buildings but apparently sparing key telescopes there. The fast-moving fire...



news in brief
Rocket Lab's Electron rocket reaches space on first launch
Posted: Sat, May 27 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

Soyuz launches military satellite
Posted: Sat, May 27 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

DARPA picks Boeing to build XS-1 spaceplane
Posted: Sat, May 27 9:52 AM ET (1352 GMT)

news links
Friday, June 23
National Security Needs Robust Commercial Space
Niskanen Center — 6:51 am ET (1051 GMT)
FCC grants OneWeb US market access
Advanced Television — 5:48 am ET (0948 GMT)
FCC approves WorldVu Satellites entrance into US market
Telecompaper — 5:47 am ET (0947 GMT)
Future Life On Mars: In Conversation With Buzz Aldrin
Billionaire.com — 5:47 am ET (0947 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list