spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ball Aerospace CEO to retire
Posted: Tue, Feb 5 6:41 AM ET (1141 GMT)
The CEO of Ball Aerospace will retire at the end of next month and be replaced by a former NASA official, the company announced Monday....

Boeing sues Sea Launch partners
Posted: Tue, Feb 5 6:34 AM ET (1134 GMT)
Boeing has filed suit against its Russian and Ukrainian partners in the Sea Launch venture for over $350 million, saying the companies need to reimburse...

Zenit-3SL launch fails
Posted: Fri, Feb 1 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
A Sea Launch Zenit-3SL rocket suffered an engine shutdown shortly after liftoff early Friday, causing the vehicle and its satellite payload to plunge into...

Atlas launches NASA communications satellite
Posted: Thu, Jan 31 7:31 AM ET (1231 GMT)
An Atlas 5 rocket successfully placed into orbit Wednesday night the first in a new generation of communications satellites for NASA. The Atlas 5 401...

Lockheed Martin joins Dream Chaser team
Posted: Thu, Jan 31 7:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)
Sierra Nevada Corporation (SNC), the company developing the Dream Chaser commercial crew vehicle, announced Wednesday it has added Lockheed Martin to its team to help...

South Korea successfully launches first rocket
Posted: Wed, Jan 30 8:27 AM ET (1327 GMT)
A South Korean rocket placed a satellite in orbit successfully Wednesday, a first for the nation after two previous attempts failed. The Korea Satellite Launch...

SpaceX to launch Israeli communications satellite
Posted: Wed, Jan 30 8:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)
SpaceX will launch a satellite for an Israeli satellite operator in 2015, the companies announced Tuesday. A SpaceX Falcon 9 will launch the Amos-6...

Iran launches monkey on suborbital flight
Posted: Tue, Jan 29 6:19 AM ET (1119 GMT)
The Iranian government announced Monday that the country's space program had launched and successfully recovered a monkey on a suborbital spaceflight, a first for...

Japan launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 27 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)
An H-2A rocket placed two Japanese reconnaissance satellites into orbit on Sunday during a period of heightened tensions in the region. The H-2A...

Lockheed Martin space unit reports quarterly revenue decline and leadership change
Posted: Fri, Jan 25 7:13 AM ET (1213 GMT)
Aerospace company Lockheed Martin reported a drop in quarterly revenue and operating profit for its space division in the most recent quarter on Thursday, and...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list