spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Weather delays Globalstar launch to Wednesday
Posted: Wed, Feb 6 5:11 AM ET (1011 GMT)
Poor weather delayed Tuesday's scheduled launch of six Globalstar satellites on a Soyuz rocket by one day. The launch of the six satellites, on...

Ball Aerospace CEO to retire
Posted: Tue, Feb 5 5:41 AM ET (1041 GMT)
The CEO of Ball Aerospace will retire at the end of next month and be replaced by a former NASA official, the company announced Monday....

Boeing sues Sea Launch partners
Posted: Tue, Feb 5 5:34 AM ET (1034 GMT)
Boeing has filed suit against its Russian and Ukrainian partners in the Sea Launch venture for over $350 million, saying the companies need to reimburse...

Zenit-3SL launch fails
Posted: Fri, Feb 1 6:41 AM ET (1141 GMT)
A Sea Launch Zenit-3SL rocket suffered an engine shutdown shortly after liftoff early Friday, causing the vehicle and its satellite payload to plunge into...

Atlas launches NASA communications satellite
Posted: Thu, Jan 31 6:31 AM ET (1131 GMT)
An Atlas 5 rocket successfully placed into orbit Wednesday night the first in a new generation of communications satellites for NASA. The Atlas 5 401...

Lockheed Martin joins Dream Chaser team
Posted: Thu, Jan 31 6:10 AM ET (1110 GMT)
Sierra Nevada Corporation (SNC), the company developing the Dream Chaser commercial crew vehicle, announced Wednesday it has added Lockheed Martin to its team to help...

South Korea successfully launches first rocket
Posted: Wed, Jan 30 7:27 AM ET (1227 GMT)
A South Korean rocket placed a satellite in orbit successfully Wednesday, a first for the nation after two previous attempts failed. The Korea Satellite Launch...

SpaceX to launch Israeli communications satellite
Posted: Wed, Jan 30 7:07 AM ET (1207 GMT)
SpaceX will launch a satellite for an Israeli satellite operator in 2015, the companies announced Tuesday. A SpaceX Falcon 9 will launch the Amos-6...

Iran launches monkey on suborbital flight
Posted: Tue, Jan 29 5:19 AM ET (1019 GMT)
The Iranian government announced Monday that the country's space program had launched and successfully recovered a monkey on a suborbital spaceflight, a first for...

Japan launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 27 9:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)
An H-2A rocket placed two Japanese reconnaissance satellites into orbit on Sunday during a period of heightened tensions in the region. The H-2A...



news in brief
Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Wed, Oct 22 8:04 AM ET (1204 GMT)

Mars spacecraft survive comet flyby
Posted: Wed, Oct 22 7:53 AM ET (1153 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Tue, Oct 21 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 22
Space launch to pave the way for lunar expedition
China Daily — 8:05 pm ET (0005 GMT)
NASA silent on Smith request for information
Houston Chronicle — 8:00 pm ET (0000 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list