spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Antares completes static-fire engine test
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 11:09 AM ET (1609 GMT)
the first stage engines of Orbital Sciences Corporation's Antares launch vehicle roared to life on a Virginia launch pad Friday evening for nearly half...

Report finds no root cause for Taurus launch failure
Posted: Fri, Feb 22 6:49 AM ET (1149 GMT)
An investigation into the loss of a NASA climate satellite launched nearly two years ago failed to turn up a most probable cause for the...

Kepler discovered smallest exoplanet yet around a Sun-like star
Posted: Thu, Feb 21 7:32 AM ET (1232 GMT)
Astronomers announced Wednesday they have discovered the smallest known extrasolar planet to orbit a Sun-like star, a world only slightly larger than the Moon....

NASA confirms Curiosity collected rock sample with drill
Posted: Thu, Feb 21 7:21 AM ET (1221 GMT)
NASA's Curiosity Mars rover has collected the first rock sample obtained from within a Martian rock, project officials said Wednesday. Curiosity used its drill...

ISS temporarily loses communications with the ground
Posted: Wed, Feb 20 7:14 AM ET (1214 GMT)
A communications glitch cut off the International Space Station's primarily link to the ground for nearly three hours on Tuesday. The loss of communications...

ISS experiment to publish data on dark matter soon
Posted: Tue, Feb 19 7:22 AM ET (1222 GMT)
The Nobel laureate leader of a particle physics experiment on the International Space Station said Sunday that his team plans to soon publish its first...

Cosmic rays linked to supernovae
Posted: Tue, Feb 19 7:12 AM ET (1212 GMT)
Astronomers have found evidence suggesting that high-energy cosmic rays are produced in the shock fronts of supernova explosions. Observations by ground and space-based...

Meteor explodes over Russian city
Posted: Fri, Feb 15 7:38 PM ET (0038 GMT)
A small asteroid entered the Earth's atmosphere and burst over the Russian city of Chelyabinsk Friday morning, injuring more than 1,000 people and...

Small asteroid to fly past the Earth
Posted: Fri, Feb 15 6:28 AM ET (1128 GMT)
A small asteroid will pass closer to the Earth Friday than many satellites, but does not pose an impact threat to the Earth. Asteroid 2012...

Antares hot fire test aborted
Posted: Thu, Feb 14 6:26 AM ET (1126 GMT)
A static "hot fire" test of the first stage engines of a new launch vehicle was aborted Wednesday evening in Virginia. Orbital Sciences Corporation planned...



news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 20
Space junk mission leads 2017 rocket launches
CNN — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
SpaceX to reopen legendary Kennedy launch site
Florida Politics — 5:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
UAE’s MBRSC to launch its Project Space Forum on 24 January
Spacewatch Middle East — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Belarus-China cooperation in space exploration praised
Belarusian Telegraph Agency — 5:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
Akatsuki returns from the dead
Boulder Weekly — 5:24 am ET (1024 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list