spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: January 3
Posted: Fri, Jan 4 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)
Arianespace may report a loss of up to 50 million euros (US$45 million) for fiscal year 2001, Space News reported Thursday. The company was...

News briefs: January 2
Posted: Thu, Jan 3 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)
Shares in XM Satellite Radio fell by nearly 10 percent Wednesday after brokerage Salomon Smith Barney downgraded the stock. Salomon analysts said that the downgrade...

O'Keefe starts work at NASA
Posted: Thu, Jan 3 7:47 AM ET (1247 GMT)
Sean O'Keefe started work at NASA on Wednesday as the agency's new administrator. O'Keefe was officially sworn in as NASA's 10th...

News briefs: December 31-January 1
Posted: Wed, Jan 2 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)
Japan may be considering building a manned spacecraft, according to a report published Tuesday in the Japanese newspaper Sankei Shimbun. The vehicle would take 10-...

UK establishes NEO information center
Posted: Wed, Jan 2 8:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
The British government announced Tuesday that it will create a center to disseminate information about near-Earth objects (NEOs) and their potential threat to the...

News briefs: December 29-30
Posted: Mon, Dec 31 8:02 AM ET (1302 GMT)
The Japanese space agency NASDA is reportedly considering building a manned spacecraft for space tourism ventures, AFP reported Sunday. The NASDA proposal includes building a...

News briefs: December 28
Posted: Sat, Dec 29 12:30 PM ET (1730 GMT)
An object orbiting Uranus has, at least temporarily, lost its designation as a moon. The object, originally designated S/1986 U 10, was discovered in...

Tsiklon launches six communication satellites
Posted: Fri, Dec 28 10:32 AM ET (1532 GMT)
A Tsiklon-3 booster placed six small communications satellites into low Earth orbit early Friday. The Tsiklon-3 lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in...

News briefs: December 27
Posted: Fri, Dec 28 8:18 AM ET (1318 GMT)
NASA is seriously contemplating closing one or more field centers in an effort to cut costs, Florida Today reported Thursday. The Glenn Research Center in...

News briefs: December 22-26
Posted: Thu, Dec 27 7:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)
A Tsiklon-3 rocket is scheduled for launch Friday from Plesetsk, RIA Novosti reported Wednesday. The rocket will place six small communications satellites, three military...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, November 22
New project puts Denmark firmly on the space map
Copenhagen Post — 1:16 am ET (0616 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list