spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: February 2-3
Posted: Mon, Feb 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)
New York Governor George Pataki will not sign legislation that would curb light pollution in the state, effectively vetoing the bill, the New York Times...

H-2A lifts off on second flight
Updated: Mon, Feb 4 8:34 AM ET (1334 GMT)
Originally Posted: Mon, Feb 4 12:56 AM ET (0556 GMT)
A Japanese H-2A booster launched Monday on the second successful test flight for the new vehicle. The H-2A lifted off from the Tanegashima...

H-2A launch delayed
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 12:30 PM ET (1730 GMT)
The Japanese space agency NASDA has delayed the launch of an H-2A rocket for one day because of high winds. The launch of the...

Teledesic announces satellite contract, revised constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:56 AM ET (1556 GMT)
Broadband satellite communications company Teledesic announced Friday that it has signed a contract with Italian aerospace firm Alenia Spazio to build the first two satellites...

News briefs: February 1
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:47 AM ET (1547 GMT)
Orbital Imaging, also known as Orbimage, is expected to file for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection next month as part of a prearranged restructuring plan, the...

News briefs: January 31
Posted: Fri, Feb 1 10:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)
Spacecraft controllers will initiate a series of maneuvers February 5 designed to put ESA's Artemis spacecraft into geostationary orbit. Artemis was launched on an...

Bolden named to number two NASA post
Posted: Fri, Feb 1 8:54 AM ET (1354 GMT)
Marine general and former astronaut Charles Bolden was nominated Thursday to be NASA deputy administrator, the number two ranking position at the space agency. Bolden...

NASA releases criteria for ISS crews
Posted: Thu, Jan 31 9:46 PM ET (0246 GMT)
NASA released to the public Thursday guidelines approved by the International Space Station partner nations for crews visiting the orbiting outpost. The "ISS Crew Criteria...

EUVE reentry over Egypt
Updated: Thu, Jan 31 9:33 PM ET (0233 GMT)
Originally Posted: Thu, Jan 31 8:52 AM ET (1352 GMT)
The Extreme Ultraviolet Explorer (EUVE) spacecraft came back to Earth over central Egypt Wednesday night, according to NASA reports Thursday. According to a space agency...

News briefs: January 30
Posted: Thu, Jan 31 8:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)
The launch of a Soyuz taxi flight carrying space tourist Mark Shuttleworth may be delayed a week, Russian officials said Wednesday. The launch of the...



news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list