spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX blames launch failure on faulty strut
Posted: Wed, Jul 22 9:34 AM ET (1334 GMT)
SpaceX said Monday that the failure last month of a Falcon 9 rocket on a cargo mission to the International Space Station was caused by...

Russian billionaire to fund $100-million SETI effort
Posted: Wed, Jul 22 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)
A Russian billionaire announced Monday he will provide $100 million over the next ten years to support the most extensive effort yet in the search...

New Horizons images reveal a young Pluto surface
Posted: Sat, Jul 18 10:56 AM ET (1456 GMT)
Images taken by NASA's New Horizons spacecraft during its flyby of Pluto July 14 show that parts of the surface are surprisingly young, suggesting...

Ariane 5 launches communications, weather satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 18 10:35 AM ET (1435 GMT)
An Ariane 5 successfully launched a commercial communications satellite and a European weather satellite Wednesday evening. The Ariane 5 lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana,...

Atlas successfully launches GPS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 18 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)
At Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched the latest GPS navigation satellite on Wednesday. The Atlas 5 401 rocket lifted off on schedule from Cape Canaveral...

New Horizons successfully flies past Pluto
Posted: Wed, Jul 15 10:12 AM ET (1412 GMT)
NASA's New Horizons spacecraft flew past Pluto early Tuesday, nine and a half years after its launch. New Horizons made its closest approach to...

PSLV launches five British-built satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 11 2:48 PM ET (1848 GMT)
An Indian Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) successfully launched Friday five satellites built by a British company. The PSLV-XL rocket lifted off from the...

Philae responds to commands
Posted: Sat, Jul 11 2:31 PM ET (1831 GMT)
Europe's Philae comet lander communicated with controllers Thursday for the first time in two weeks and demonstrated it had the ability to respond to...

New Horizons goes into safe mode
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 11:34 AM ET (1534 GMT)
NASA's New Horizons spacecraft went into a protective safe mode Saturday, less than ten days before the spacecraft makes its closest approach to Pluto....

Progress docks with space station
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)
A Progress cargo spacecraft docked with the International Space Station early Sunday, two days after launch. The Progress M-28M spacecraft docked with the Pirs...



news in brief
Soyuz upper stage issue may delay first OneWeb launch
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:34 AM ET (1534 GMT)

SSL backs out of satellite servicing program with DARPA
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)


news links
Saturday, February 16
Building a better booster (part 1)
The Space Review — 3:49 pm ET (2049 GMT)
A helping hand for giant telescopes
The Space Review — 3:48 pm ET (2048 GMT)
A space-focused alternative to a Green New Deal
The Space Review — 3:47 pm ET (2047 GMT)
Review: War in Space
The Space Review — 3:46 pm ET (2046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list