spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: February 7
Posted: Fri, Feb 8 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)
NASA awarded Boeing Thursday a $936 million modification to its existing International Space Station construction contract, one that has been fraught with cost overruns. The...

News briefs: February 6
Posted: Thu, Feb 7 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)
NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft, in orbit around the Red Planet, successfully deployed its main antenna this week, JPL reported Wednesday. The spacecraft extended a...

X-37 wings completed, first flight in 2004
Posted: Thu, Feb 7 9:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)
Boeing announced Wednesday that it has completed the wings of the X-37 experimental vehicle, designed to test reusable launch vehicle technologies, but said that...

Shuttle refits moved from California to Florida
Posted: Wed, Feb 6 8:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday that future refits of the space shuttle fleet will take place at the Kennedy Space Center (KSC) and not in California. Past...

News briefs: February 5
Posted: Wed, Feb 6 7:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)
At least two potential space tourists are undergoing medical examinations in Russia, RIA Novosti reported Tuesday. The report claimed that one potential tourists was undergoing...

Pegasus launches HESSI
Posted: Tue, Feb 5 10:33 PM ET (0333 GMT)
A Pegasus XL booster successfully launched NASA's High Energy Spectroscopic Imager (HESSI) spacecraft Tuesday afternoon. The Pegasus XL was deployed from its L-1011...

NASDA confirms failure of DASH after H-2A launch
Posted: Tue, Feb 5 7:12 AM ET (1212 GMT)
The Japanese space agency NASDA confirmed Monday that one of the payloads carried on an H-2A rocket launched Sunday night failed to separate from...

News briefs: February 4
Posted: Tue, Feb 5 7:06 AM ET (1206 GMT)
A Pegasus XL rocket is ready to launch NASA's High Energy Spectroscopic Imager (HESSI) spacecraft Tuesday afternoon. Launch of HESSI is scheduled for 3:...

Computer glitch hits ISS
Posted: Mon, Feb 4 2:26 PM ET (1926 GMT)
A computer problem on the International Space Station Monday caused the station to lose some power, although NASA officials say the problem is temporary and...

Bush proposes $15 billion FY2003 NASA budget
Posted: Mon, Feb 4 12:28 PM ET (1728 GMT)
The proposed fiscal year 2003 budget released by the Bush Administration Monday morning includes $15 billion for NASA, approximately the same as in 2002 but...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, November 22
New project puts Denmark firmly on the space map
Copenhagen Post — 1:16 am ET (0616 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list