spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Blue Origin announces plans to build and launch rockets in Florida
Posted: Sat, Sep 19 12:09 PM ET (1609 GMT)
Blue Origin, the commercial space company established by Amazon.com founder Jeff Bezos, announced this week it will establish a factory and launch site at...

Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Sep 15 11:28 PM ET (0328 GMT)
A Proton rocket successfully launched a Russian communications satellite on Tuesday. The Proton M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 3:00 pm...

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Tue, Sep 15 11:16 PM ET (0316 GMT)
A Long March rocket placed what Chinese officials described as a high-resolution Earth imaging satellite on Monday. The Long March 2D rocket lifted off...

ILS replaces president
Posted: Tue, Sep 15 8:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
International Launch Services announced Friday that it was replacing its president, promoting a vice president to lead the commercial launch company. ILS said that Kirk...

China launches communications test satellite
Posted: Tue, Sep 15 8:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)
China launched Saturday what it says is an experimental communications satellite. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at...

Soyuz spacecraft lands in Kazakhstan
Posted: Sat, Sep 12 10:30 AM ET (1430 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft carrying three people from the ISS, including one long-duration cosmonaut, landed in Kazakhstan early Saturday. The Soyuz TMA-16M spacecraft touched...

Soyuz launches two Galileo spacecraft
Posted: Sat, Sep 12 10:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket successfully placed two Galileo satellites into orbit late Thursday. The Soyuz-2 rocket lifted off from French Guiana at 10:08 pm...

Aerojet Rocketdyne reportedly bids for United Launch Alliance
Posted: Sat, Sep 12 10:03 AM ET (1403 GMT)
Engine manufacturer Aerojet Rocketdyne has reportedly offered $2 billion to acquire United Launch Alliance, the Boeing-Lockheed Martin joint venture that manufactures Atlas and Delta...

Boeing names CST-100 spacecraft Starliner
Posted: Sun, Sep 6 5:37 PM ET (2137 GMT)
Boeing, one of two companies developing commercial crew spacecraft for NASA, announced Friday that its spacecraft will be known as the CST-100 Starliner. Boeing...

Soyuz docks at ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 6 5:27 PM ET (2127 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft docked with the International Space Station early Friday after a two-day transit to the station. The Soyuz TMA-18M docked with...



news in brief
FCC chairman endorses SpaceX satellite constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:29 PM ET (2329 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress after delay
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:27 PM ET (2327 GMT)

NASA budget proposal seeks to cancel WFIRST
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:20 PM ET (2320 GMT)

news links
Thursday, February 22
Aerojet Rocketdyne reports 4Q loss
AP — 6:16 am ET (1116 GMT)
Australia’s future in space
Australian Strategic Policy Institute — 6:15 am ET (1115 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list