spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA pushes back first crewed Orion flight to 2023
Posted: Sat, Sep 19 12:23 PM ET (1623 GMT)
The first flight of NASA's Orion spacecraft with astronauts on board may not take place until the spring of 2023, more than 18 months...

Blue Origin announces plans to build and launch rockets in Florida
Posted: Sat, Sep 19 12:09 PM ET (1609 GMT)
Blue Origin, the commercial space company established by Amazon.com founder Jeff Bezos, announced this week it will establish a factory and launch site at...

Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Sep 15 11:28 PM ET (0328 GMT)
A Proton rocket successfully launched a Russian communications satellite on Tuesday. The Proton M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 3:00 pm...

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Tue, Sep 15 11:16 PM ET (0316 GMT)
A Long March rocket placed what Chinese officials described as a high-resolution Earth imaging satellite on Monday. The Long March 2D rocket lifted off...

ILS replaces president
Posted: Tue, Sep 15 8:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
International Launch Services announced Friday that it was replacing its president, promoting a vice president to lead the commercial launch company. ILS said that Kirk...

China launches communications test satellite
Posted: Tue, Sep 15 8:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)
China launched Saturday what it says is an experimental communications satellite. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at...

Soyuz spacecraft lands in Kazakhstan
Posted: Sat, Sep 12 10:30 AM ET (1430 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft carrying three people from the ISS, including one long-duration cosmonaut, landed in Kazakhstan early Saturday. The Soyuz TMA-16M spacecraft touched...

Soyuz launches two Galileo spacecraft
Posted: Sat, Sep 12 10:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket successfully placed two Galileo satellites into orbit late Thursday. The Soyuz-2 rocket lifted off from French Guiana at 10:08 pm...

Aerojet Rocketdyne reportedly bids for United Launch Alliance
Posted: Sat, Sep 12 10:03 AM ET (1403 GMT)
Engine manufacturer Aerojet Rocketdyne has reportedly offered $2 billion to acquire United Launch Alliance, the Boeing-Lockheed Martin joint venture that manufactures Atlas and Delta...

Boeing names CST-100 spacecraft Starliner
Posted: Sun, Sep 6 5:37 PM ET (2137 GMT)
Boeing, one of two companies developing commercial crew spacecraft for NASA, announced Friday that its spacecraft will be known as the CST-100 Starliner. Boeing...



news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, January 23
Irish first as Elfordstown tracks & monitors Rocket Lab satellite deployment
National Space Centre (Ireland) — 7:01 am ET (1201 GMT)
Russia to launch 150 satellites by 2025 - Roscosmos
Interfax — 6:43 am ET (1143 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list