spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Vega launches LISA Pathfinder spacecraft
Posted: Sun, Dec 6 10:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
A Vega small launch vehicle successfully launched ESA's Lisa Pathfinder spacecraft early Thursday. The Vega lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 11:04...

DARPA cancels ALASA small launch vehicle
Posted: Sun, Dec 6 9:59 AM ET (1459 GMT)
DARPA has scrapped plans to launch small satellites from a fighter jet. The Airborne Launch Assist Space Access (ALASA) program, under a contract with Boeing,...

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 4:51 PM ET (2151 GMT)
China launched the latest in a series of reconnaissance satellites on Thursday. A Long March 4C rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center...

Blue Origin tests New Shepard vehicle, lands rocket stage
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 4:50 PM ET (2150 GMT)
Blue Origin flew its New Shepard suborbital vehicle on a successful test flight Monday, going to an altitude of more than 100 kilometers and successfully...

H-2A launches commercial satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 4:48 PM ET (2148 GMT)
A Japanese H-2A rocket launched a communications satellite for a Canadian company in a rare commercial mission for the launch vehicle. The H-2A...

Amos-5 satellite fails
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 4:47 PM ET (2147 GMT)
A communications satellite owned by an Israeli company has failed in orbit and probably will not be revived, the company announced Sunday. Spacecom said the...

China launches communications satellite for Laos
Posted: Sat, Nov 21 7:11 PM ET (0011 GMT)
A Long March rocket successfully launched a communications satellite developed for Laos. The Long March 3B lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at...

NASA orders first SpaceX commercial crew mission
Posted: Sat, Nov 21 7:10 PM ET (0010 GMT)
NASA announced late Friday that it is ordering the first commercial crew mission with SpaceX, following up a similar order with Boeing earlier this year....

ULA announces plan to regularly launch CubeSats
Posted: Sat, Nov 21 7:09 PM ET (0009 GMT)
United Launch Alliance said Thursday that CubeSats will become standard payloads on future Atlas 5 launches. ULA announced a new initiative to fly a cubesat...

ULA elects not to bid for GPS launch
Posted: Sat, Nov 21 7:08 PM ET (0008 GMT)
United Launch Alliance said Monday it has decided not to bid on a GPS launch contract sought by SpaceX. In a statement, ULA said that...



news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 24
Tory Bruno, the Other Rocket Man
Air & Space — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Eugene Parker’s Journey to the Sun
Air & Space — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Bezos offers moon to space agency
InnovationAus.com — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list