spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Virgin Galactic buys Boeing 747 for LauncherOne
Posted: Sun, Dec 6 10:02 AM ET (1502 GMT)
Virgin Galactic unveiled Thursday a Boeing 747 that will serve as the carrier aircraft for its LauncherOne smallsat vehicle. The 747, previously owned by Virgin...

Vega launches LISA Pathfinder spacecraft
Posted: Sun, Dec 6 10:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
A Vega small launch vehicle successfully launched ESA's Lisa Pathfinder spacecraft early Thursday. The Vega lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 11:04...

DARPA cancels ALASA small launch vehicle
Posted: Sun, Dec 6 9:59 AM ET (1459 GMT)
DARPA has scrapped plans to launch small satellites from a fighter jet. The Airborne Launch Assist Space Access (ALASA) program, under a contract with Boeing,...

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 4:51 PM ET (2151 GMT)
China launched the latest in a series of reconnaissance satellites on Thursday. A Long March 4C rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center...

Blue Origin tests New Shepard vehicle, lands rocket stage
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 4:50 PM ET (2150 GMT)
Blue Origin flew its New Shepard suborbital vehicle on a successful test flight Monday, going to an altitude of more than 100 kilometers and successfully...

H-2A launches commercial satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 4:48 PM ET (2148 GMT)
A Japanese H-2A rocket launched a communications satellite for a Canadian company in a rare commercial mission for the launch vehicle. The H-2A...

Amos-5 satellite fails
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 4:47 PM ET (2147 GMT)
A communications satellite owned by an Israeli company has failed in orbit and probably will not be revived, the company announced Sunday. Spacecom said the...

China launches communications satellite for Laos
Posted: Sat, Nov 21 7:11 PM ET (0011 GMT)
A Long March rocket successfully launched a communications satellite developed for Laos. The Long March 3B lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at...

NASA orders first SpaceX commercial crew mission
Posted: Sat, Nov 21 7:10 PM ET (0010 GMT)
NASA announced late Friday that it is ordering the first commercial crew mission with SpaceX, following up a similar order with Boeing earlier this year....

ULA announces plan to regularly launch CubeSats
Posted: Sat, Nov 21 7:09 PM ET (0009 GMT)
United Launch Alliance said Thursday that CubeSats will become standard payloads on future Atlas 5 launches. ULA announced a new initiative to fly a cubesat...



news in brief
SpaceShipTwo reaches edge of space on latest test flight
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:38 PM ET (1738 GMT)

Russian cosmonauts perform arduous spacewalk to inspect Soyuz
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

Voyager 2 enters interstellar space
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 18
Trump's vision for Space Force may get boost
Washington Times — 6:06 am ET (1106 GMT)
Delta IV Heavy rocket approved to launch from Vandenberg on Tuesday
San Luis Obispo (CA) Tribune — 6:03 am ET (1103 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list