spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: February 9-10
Posted: Mon, Feb 11 8:34 AM ET (1334 GMT)
The Indian Space Resource Organization (ISRO) successfully completed the first full test firing of a new cryogenic engine, the AFP news agency reported Sunday. The...

Sensor problem delays Delta 2 launch, another attempt Monday
Updated: Mon, Feb 11 8:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sun, Feb 10 1:56 PM ET (1856 GMT)
For the third day in a row the launch of a Delta 2 carrying five Iridium satellites has been delayed. Launch controllers delayed a planned...

Delta 2 launch delayed again, next attempt Sunday
Updated: Sun, Feb 10 9:10 AM ET (1410 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sat, Feb 9 12:57 PM ET (1757 GMT)
The launch of a Delta 2 rocket, scheduled for Saturday, has been delayed again, this time because of problems with a support plane. Mechanical problems...

More setbacks for EU Galileo project
Posted: Sat, Feb 9 12:10 PM ET (1710 GMT)
The troubled Galileo project, a European effort to develop a global positioning system to rival GPS, suffered two key setbacks this week that threaten to...

News briefs: February 8
Posted: Sat, Feb 9 9:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
A long-delayed Titan 2 launch of a military weather satellite, planned for this month, has been pushed back again, Space News reported late Friday....

Wind gust delays Delta launch
Posted: Sat, Feb 9 9:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
A strong gust of wind in the final minute of the countdown delayed Friday's scheduled launch of a Delta 2 booster for a day....

NASA considers foreign launch options for Triana
Posted: Fri, Feb 8 9:06 AM ET (1406 GMT)
NASA is evaluating two proposals to launch the Triana spacecraft on foreign boosters, Space News reported Thursday. One proposal would launch Triana as a secondary...

News briefs: February 7
Posted: Fri, Feb 8 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)
NASA awarded Boeing Thursday a $936 million modification to its existing International Space Station construction contract, one that has been fraught with cost overruns. The...

News briefs: February 6
Posted: Thu, Feb 7 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)
NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft, in orbit around the Red Planet, successfully deployed its main antenna this week, JPL reported Wednesday. The spacecraft extended a...

X-37 wings completed, first flight in 2004
Posted: Thu, Feb 7 9:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)
Boeing announced Wednesday that it has completed the wings of the X-37 experimental vehicle, designed to test reusable launch vehicle technologies, but said that...



news in brief
SpaceShipTwo reaches edge of space on latest test flight
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:38 PM ET (1738 GMT)

Russian cosmonauts perform arduous spacewalk to inspect Soyuz
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

Voyager 2 enters interstellar space
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, January 23
Cornwall's £1bn spaceport plan hopes for lift-off in 2021
Management Today — 6:48 am ET (1148 GMT)
China's space-startup boom fueled by government boost
Nikkei Asian Review — 6:48 am ET (1148 GMT)
SpaceX readying Falcon 9 for static fire ahead of Crew Dragon debut
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 6:40 am ET (1140 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list