spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Earth science decadal survey calls for mix of large and small missions
Posted: Sun, Jan 7 9:32 AM ET (1432 GMT)
A National Academies report setting scientific priorities for Earth science observations from space calls for NASA to undertake both large and small missions in the...

Dust, not "alien megastructures", cause of unusual dimming of star
Posted: Sun, Jan 7 9:22 AM ET (1422 GMT)
Astronomers announced this week that they believe the unusual changes in brightness in a distant star can be explained by a natural, and not artificial,...

Orbital ATK wins order for second satellite servicing mission
Posted: Sun, Jan 7 9:14 AM ET (1414 GMT)
Orbital ATK has signed up a customer for a second Mission Extension Vehicle (MEV) satellite life extension spacecraft. Orbital ATK announced Thursday that Intelsat, which...

China plans more than 40 launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 7 9:08 AM ET (1408 GMT)
China has ambitious launch plans for 2018 that could result in shattering the country's record for the the most launches in a year. At...

Falcon Heavy rolled to the pad for the first time
Posted: Sun, Dec 31 9:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)
SpaceX erected its Falcon Heavy rocket on the launch pad for the first time Thursday, conducting tests in advance of a launch some time in...

Contact restored with Angosat-1 after post-launch blackout
Posted: Sun, Dec 31 9:30 AM ET (1430 GMT)
Controllers have restored contact with the Angosat-1 communications satellite, which was unresponsive for a day after its launch Tuesday. A Zenit rocket launched the...

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sun, Dec 31 9:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)
China launched a trio of reconnaissance satellites Tuesday. The Long March 2C rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 2:44 pm...

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sun, Dec 24 4:13 PM ET (2113 GMT)
A Long March 2D rocket placed a remote sensing satellite into orbit Saturday. The rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 11:...

Falcon 9 launches fourth set of Iridium satellites
Posted: Sun, Dec 24 4:09 PM ET (2109 GMT)
A SpaceX Falcon 9 launched a fourth set of ten Iridium Next satellites Friday night, ending a record year for the launch company. The Falcon...

H-2A launches Earth science and technology demonstration spacecraft
Posted: Sun, Dec 24 4:05 PM ET (2105 GMT)
A Japanese H-2A rocket launched a climate change observation satellite and a technology demonstration spacecraft Saturday. The H-2A rocket lifted off from the...



news in brief
Delta 4 launches WGS-10 communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)

Soyuz sends crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

NASA considering commercial rockets for EM-1
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 7:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, March 20
Rethinking EM-1, and SLS
The Space Review — 11:16 am ET (1516 GMT)
NASA’s flawed plan to return humans to the Moon
The Space Review — 11:13 am ET (1513 GMT)
Pow, right to the Moon
The Space Review — 11:12 am ET (1512 GMT)
Inmarsat in talks on £2.5bn takeover bid from former owner Apax
The Times of London — 5:54 am ET (0954 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list