spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)
Members of a union voted Saturday to accept a revised United Launch Alliance contract offer, ending a two-week strike. The members of the Machinists...

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)
NASA is dealing with contamination in tubing located in part of the core stage of the first Space Launch System rocket. At a meeting Thursday,...

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)
A spending bill approved by House appropriators Thursday partially restores funding for a NASA space telescope proposed for cancellation. The House Appropriations Committee released Wednesday...

Astronauts swap ISS coolant pump unit during spacewalk
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)
Two astronauts successfully completed a spacewalk Wednesday to maintain the station's cooling system. During the six-and-a-half-hour spacewalk, NASA astronauts Drew...

Mark Geyer named next director of Johnson Space Center
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:38 PM ET (1738 GMT)
Mark Geyer will be the next director of NASA's Johnson Space Center. NASA named Geyer to the position May 14, effective May 25 when...

Scientists detect evidence of Europa plume in Galileo data
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:37 PM ET (1737 GMT)
NASA's Galileo spacecraft flew through a plume of water ejected from the jovian moon Europa, scientists said Monday. Scientists revisited data from a 1997...

First Falcon 9 Block 5 launches Bangladeshi satellite
Posted: Sat, May 12 6:18 PM ET (2218 GMT)
The first Block 5 version of SpaceX's Falcon 9 rocket successfully launched a communications satellite for Bangladesh Friday afternoon. The Falcon 9 lifted off...

NASA to fly small helicopter on Mars 2020 rover mission
Posted: Sat, May 12 6:14 PM ET (2214 GMT)
NASA announced Friday that it will fly a small helicopter as a technology demonstration on the Mars 2020 rover mission. The Mars Helicopter, weighing less...

ULA selects RL10 for Vulcan upper stage
Posted: Sat, May 12 6:11 PM ET (2211 GMT)
United Launch Alliance announced Friday that it will use the RL10 engine from Aerojet Rocketdyne for its Vulcan upper stage. ULA said it selected the...

Britain considers satellite navigation system
Posted: Sat, May 12 6:10 PM ET (2210 GMT)
One British aerospace executive said that the UK could do its own satellite navigation system relatively quickly and inexpensively. Colin Paynter, managing director of Airbus...



news in brief
Antares launches Cygnus cargo spacecraft to station
Posted: Sun, Nov 18 8:19 AM ET (1319 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft to ISS
Posted: Sun, Nov 18 8:18 AM ET (1318 GMT)

SpaceX launches Es'hail-2
Posted: Sun, Nov 18 8:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)

news links


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list