spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Five-week government shutdown ends
Posted: Sun, Jan 27 11:01 AM ET (1601 GMT)
A five-week partial government shutdown that idled most of NASA and several other agencies involved in space activities came to an end Friday. President...

PSLV launches military, student satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 27 11:00 AM ET (1600 GMT)
An Indian rocket successfully launched a small military imaging satellite Thursday. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at...

Falcon 9 for commercial crew test flight performs static fire test
Posted: Sun, Jan 27 10:59 AM ET (1559 GMT)
SpaceX performed a static fire Thursday of the Falcon 9 rocket that will be used for a commercial crew test flight next month. The Falcon...

New Shepard launches on suborbital research flight
Posted: Sun, Jan 27 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)
Blue Origin successfully launched its New Shepard suborbital vehicle on its latest test flight Wednesday. The vehicle lifted off from the company's West Texas...

NASA reassigns astronaut on Boeing commercial crew test flight
Posted: Sun, Jan 27 10:57 AM ET (1557 GMT)
NASA is reassigning one of the astronauts who was to fly on a commercial crew mission later this year. NASA said Tuesday that Eric Boe...

SpaceShipTwo reaches edge of space on latest test flight
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:38 PM ET (1738 GMT)
Virgin Galactic's SpaceShipTwo flew to the edge of space for the first time Thursday. The vehicle, named VSS Unity, took off Thursday morning from...

Russian cosmonauts perform arduous spacewalk to inspect Soyuz
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)
Russian cosmonauts identified the site of a leak on a Soyuz spacecraft during a long and, at times, dramatic spacewalk Tuesday. Oleg Kononenko and Sergey...

Voyager 2 enters interstellar space
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)
Voyager 2 has joined its twin spacecraft in interstellar space. NASA announced Monday that the 41-year-old spacecraft passed the heliopause, the boundary between...

China launches Chang'e-4 lunar lander mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)
China launched its latest mission to the moon December 7. The Long March 3B rocket carrying the Chang'e-4 spacecraft lifted off at 1:...

China launches Saudi and other smallsats
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:32 PM ET (1732 GMT)
A Chinese rocket launched several small satellites December 7. The Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 0412 GMT (...



news in brief
Galileo resumes service after extended outage
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)

Bridenstine says NASA still considering 2033 human Mars mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

SpaceX blames Crew dragon accident on faulty valve
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 22
Kleos Space will use launch delay to further enhance satellite strategy
Proactive Investors Australia — 4:02 am ET (0802 GMT)
Could you survive a trip to Mars?
Australian National University — 3:59 am ET (0759 GMT)
County announces SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 3:58 am ET (0758 GMT)
Apollo to Artemis to Mars: What's next for NASA Langley?
Hampton Roads Virginian-Pilot — 3:56 am ET (0756 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list