spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA budget too small for "core complete" ISS
Posted: Tue, Feb 26 8:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
NASA's proposed budget is too small to build even the scaled-down "core complete" version of the International Space Station, Aerospace Daily reported Monday....

News briefs: February 25
Posted: Tue, Feb 26 8:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
An international arbitrator approved Monday a decision by Loral to dissolve a satellite manufacturing partnership with Alcatel. The Swiss panel found that Loral provided the...

Soyuz launches military satellite
Posted: Tue, Feb 26 2:10 AM ET (0710 GMT)
A Russian Soyuz booster launched a classified military spacecraft Monday in the first Russian launch of 2002. The Soyuz-U rocket lifted off from Plesetsk...

Countdown begins for STS-109 launch
Posted: Tue, Feb 26 2:03 AM ET (0703 GMT)
NASA started the countdown Monday for the Thursday morning launch of the space shuttle Columbia on mission STS-109. The countdown began at 10 am...

News briefs: February 23-24
Posted: Mon, Feb 25 8:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)
Engineers have restored some control to NASA's Far Ultraviolet Spectroscopic Explorer (FUSE) spacecraft, Astronomy.com reported Friday. FUSE had stopped scientific observations in December...

ISS odor problem solved
Posted: Mon, Feb 25 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
A strong odor that filled the US portions of the International Space Station after a Wednesday spacewalk have been removed, NASA reported. The Expedition Four...

Ariane 4 launches Intelsat 904
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 3:37 AM ET (0837 GMT)
An Ariane 4 booster successfully launched an Intelsat communications satellite early Saturday. The Ariane 44L lifted off at 1:59 am EST (0659 GMT) from...

Northrop Grumman offers to buy TRW
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 1:26 AM ET (0626 GMT)
Aerospace and defense contractor Northrop Grumman made an unsolicited bid early Friday to buy TRW in a deal worth more than $10 billion. Northrop Grumman...

News briefs: February 22
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 12:52 AM ET (0552 GMT)
The Canadian government will make an "important announcement" regarding human presence in space on Monday, the Canadian Space Agency said Friday. The announcement will be...

Polish entrepreneur bidding to be next space tourist
Posted: Fri, Feb 22 10:25 AM ET (1525 GMT)
A Polish entrepreneur said Thursday that he was interested in flying to the International Space Station as the next commercial space tourist, while Russia officials...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list