spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket Lab launches several smallsats
Posted: Sun, Jun 30 10:34 AM ET (1434 GMT)
A Rocket Lab Electron launched a group of seven satellites for payload aggregator Spaceflight on Saturday. The Electron lifted off from the company's New...

NASA selects Titan mission
Posted: Sun, Jun 30 10:33 AM ET (1433 GMT)
NASA announced Thursday it selected the Dragonfly mission to Titan as its next New Frontiers mission. Dragonfly will launch in 2026 and arrive at Titan,...

Canadian pension fund invests in SpaceX
Posted: Sun, Jun 30 10:32 AM ET (1432 GMT)
A Canadian pension fund is the latest investor in SpaceX. The Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan announced Thursday it had made an investment of undisclosed size...

Hayabusa2 to attempt another asteroid landing
Posted: Sun, Jun 30 10:31 AM ET (1431 GMT)
Japan's Hayabusa2 spacecraft will attempt a second landing on the asteroid Ryugu in July. The Japanese space agency JAXA announced that the spacecraft will...

SpaceIL drops plans for second lunar landing
Posted: Sun, Jun 30 10:30 AM ET (1430 GMT)
SpaceIL has abandoned plans to make a second lunar landing attempt. The organization, a former competitor in the Google Lunar X Prize, said days after...

Bridenstine estimates Artemis program cost at $20-30 billion
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:17 AM ET (1417 GMT)
NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine said Thursday he estimates NASA will need an additional $20–30 billion to carry out the Artemis program. In an interview...

House committee approves Space Corps
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:13 AM ET (1413 GMT)
The House Armed Services Committee approved a proposal late Wednesday night to create a Space Corps. During a late-night markup of its National Defense...

Falcon 9 launches Canadian radar imaging satellites
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:12 AM ET (1412 GMT)
SpaceX launched three Canadian radar imaging satellites Wednesday. The Falcon 9 lifted off on schedule from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 10:17...

China to fly international experiments on its space station
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:09 AM ET (1409 GMT)
China announced Wednesday it will fly nine international experiments on its upcoming space station. Chinese officials said the experiments, involving 17 nations, will be flown...

Relativity to establish rocket factory at NASA Stennis
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:08 AM ET (1408 GMT)
Small launch vehicle developer Relativity announced Tuesday it will establish a rocket factory at NASA's Stennis Space Center. The company will lease a 220,...



news in brief
Russia launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:18 PM ET (2018 GMT)

Vega launch of UAE satellite fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:17 PM ET (2017 GMT)

NASA reassigns leadership of exploration programs
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:16 PM ET (2016 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 16
Galileo sat-nav system still without service
BBC — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
Europe's GPS system stops working
The Independent — 7:20 am ET (1120 GMT)
Galileo’s initial services rocky patch continues
GPS World — 7:19 am ET (1119 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list