spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


O'Keefe: key ISS decisions coming this year
Posted: Thu, Feb 28 9:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
NASA administrator Sean O'Keefe told members of Congress Wednesday that the agency will be ready this summer to grapple with the costs of the...

NASA to contact Pioneer 10 again
Posted: Thu, Feb 28 8:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
NASA will attempt to contact the Pioneer 10 spacecraft this weekend after eight months of silence, the Ames Research Center said Wednesday. On March 2 &#...

News briefs: February 27
Posted: Thu, Feb 28 7:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
George Page, the first space shuttle launch director, passed away Tuesday at the age of 77. Page was involved with the US manned space flight...

NASA delays shuttle launch because of cold
Posted: Wed, Feb 27 5:31 PM ET (2231 GMT)
NASA announced Wednesday afternoon that it was delaying Thursday's scheduled launch of the shuttle Columbia by a day because of concerns about cold weather...

News briefs: February 26
Posted: Wed, Feb 27 7:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
TRW has shipped the Aqua spacecraft to Vandenberg Air Force Base for launch in April, the company announced Monday. Aqua, formerly known as Earth Observing...

Astrium-led group wins Skynet 5 contract
Posted: Wed, Feb 27 7:35 AM ET (1235 GMT)
A consortium led by Astrium won a contract Tuesday to build the next generation of military communications satellites for the UK. Paradigm, a joint venture...

Shuttle launch faces weather, technical issues
Posted: Wed, Feb 27 7:11 AM ET (1211 GMT)
Thursday's launch of the shuttle Columbia could be threatened by weather and technical problems, shuttle managers said Tuesday. Cold weather is the primary concern:...

NASA budget too small for "core complete" ISS
Posted: Tue, Feb 26 8:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
NASA's proposed budget is too small to build even the scaled-down "core complete" version of the International Space Station, Aerospace Daily reported Monday....

News briefs: February 25
Posted: Tue, Feb 26 8:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
An international arbitrator approved Monday a decision by Loral to dissolve a satellite manufacturing partnership with Alcatel. The Swiss panel found that Loral provided the...

Soyuz launches military satellite
Posted: Tue, Feb 26 2:10 AM ET (0710 GMT)
A Russian Soyuz booster launched a classified military spacecraft Monday in the first Russian launch of 2002. The Soyuz-U rocket lifted off from Plesetsk...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 16
Grant accepted at Cecil Spaceport
Jacksonville (FL) Daily Record — 8:27 am ET (1227 GMT)
Defense firms bullish on ‘Space Force’
The Hill — 7:26 am ET (1126 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list